Driven to abstraction

So this week the weekly writing challenge is a photographic based assignment. Whoop de doo. I love photography.

What I have very quickly realised however is that I do not love the photo editing section offered by WordPress and suggested by the DPChallenge. Annoying isn’t the word and whilst it has given me something to write about it has also taken away half an hour of my life that I will never get back. It is to be blunt, useless. If you want to edit photo’s don’t use this platform. Edit your photos first elsewhere. Use Picassa, use Photoscape, Use Photoshop.

Don’t use WordPress for photo editing. Even an action as simple as cropping turns into a vaudevillian escapade of insane proportions. I edit photos a lot. This set of tools had me reaching for a sledgehammer to smash the screen with. Ok. Maybe I have anger issues. Maybe it’s not to do with WordPress at all.

Fuck No.

WordPress. I love you. For writing in. Stay away from photo editing. Please.

Anyone else who has reached the end of their tether with this exercise should now avail themselves of these cropped ( In Photoshop of course) images designed to bring a little serenity back to proceedings.

Once I have completed this blog I will be off out for a walk with my mobile to attempt the Phoneography challenge. Let’s hope the phone survives 😉

crop 2

crop1

crop 3

***************************************************************************************

  1. Darth Vader | Philosophy & Photography
  2. Tetris | Philosophy & Photography
  3. Fish | Philosophy & Photography
  4. I am watching you… | Philosophy & Photography
  5. Into the Contrast | Dancing with Fireflies
  6. Bipolar Rubble | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  7. A World Upside Down | Conversations
  8. Weekly Writing Challenge: Abstraction – Wires | SERENDIPITY
  9. Weekly Writing Challenge: Abstraction | baka’s blog
  10. Links | The Daily Dilly Dally
  11. The Path of Light | Confessions Of A Drow
  12. The wheels are in motion | Master Of Disaster
  13. Rue Atch! | My thought exactly…!
  14. Icicles on the house | Mother Russia
  15. The Big Picture « Janyaa’s Scrapbook
  16. Abstraction Weekly Writing Challenge: Stems and Exoskeletons | Virginia the Viruliferous
  17. Weekly Writing Challenge: Abstraction | Irregular Ventilator
  18. A Find | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  19. The Farm | melinarepetti
  20. Weekly Writing Challenge: Alien Ship Seen Streaking Above North Pacific Coast | Ish Ism
  21. Phoneography Challenge: Abstraction | sketches and scribbles (reloaded)
  22. Me Tarzan, you Weekly Post challenge winner | West End Art Brisbane
  23. Professional Swimming Pools are servicing, maintaining and consultants to London’s Swimming Pool Owners
  24. What am I? | Fifty Words a Day
  25. Weekly Writing Challenge: Abstraction | Moving Notion
  26. Two Poems | Fiddle & the Drum

15 thoughts on “Driven to abstraction

  1. Dirk Porsche says:

    Strange. I don’t have any issues with editing images in WP. I think I have almost no photo I didn’t crop with WP.

    Well I don’t have a professional photo editing program either. Just the Gimp.

Leave a Reply

