T’other viewpoint

Daily Prompt: Bone of Contention

by michelle w. on March 17, 2013

Pick a contentious issue about which you care deeply — it could be the same-sex marriage debate, or just a disagreement you’re having with a friend. Write a post defending the opposite position, and then reflect on what it was like to do that.

Ok I really believe that Creativity is essential to a well rounded education. So how would I go about presenting a counter argument? Find out below.

Music, art, drama. All those things were fun at school but did they actually do me any good? Of course not. In fact they were a complete waste of time and had I spent those extra hours doing more English and Maths I would have probably made higher grades, gone to a better college and made more of my life.

I hate the arts to be honest. Total waste of space and they seem to encourage the kind of lily livered, namby pamby, I can’t cope with all this, drama queens, that drive me around the bend. Who cares about your emotional well being? Buckle down and get the job done. Here at the Law firm of Ponsonby & Ponsonby, we get the job done. By we, I mean the team of underlings, myself included. I never got good enough grades to do a Bar exam. That’s the arts for you! I work 12 hour days and monitor every document I work on. I ask permission to go to the toilet and get 15 minute breaks three times in the 12 hours. You don’t hear me complaining though.It’s a tough job but someones got to do it.

If only I hadn’t played Oliver at school. If only I hadn’t learned to play the guitar. All wasted time. Damn you Arts.

I have to stop there. This is ludicrous. The person capable of making a case for no Creativity is, in my mind potentially so bitter about life it’s hardly one worth living. No arts. No creativity. Just rote learning .Give me a break. I can’t actually imagine a rational argument against creativity, and therefore against music, drama, dance etc etc.

What was this exercise like? Kinda pointless. Did it help to try and see the other viewpoint? Not in this case, because the person with the other viewpoint ( scarily a character of my own making) was devoid of any emotional intelligence. I think I was forced into the realms of absurdity here because as I said above I cannot see a rational counter argument.

***************************************************************************************************************************

As always a few pingbacks form blogs I have read.

Daily Prompt: Bone of Contention | Basically Beyond Basic

So, Will You Hate Me? | calliopes lyre

Daily Prompt: Bone of Contention | My Atheist Blog

That’s your point of view | The Daily Dilly Dally

Talking to Oneself is Normal | Daily Prompt: Bone of Contention | likereadingontrains

Daily Prompt: Bone of Contention | The Hardest Thing | Loading…

Gather The Wood And Light The Fire | The Jittery Goat

The Details in the Bigger Picture | Death By Any Other Name

3 responses to “T’other viewpoint

  1. Excellent post Paulscribbles and very contextual at the moment! In the UK the government are now sending letters out to tax payers splitting were the tax from their wages has been spent. My tax bill showed 0.4% was spent on the arts (this included museums, art galleries, libraries etc). I myself thought this figure was quite low, as a child I loved nothing more than a field trip to such places and think it is important to preserve these special places so they are available for future generations. On telling a friend about this, she said she didn’t think they should receive any government funding, it should be up to the individuals to donate what they want to such things… I guess everyone is entitled to their own opinion on the subject but for the moment I am happy for the government to take her 0.4% :).

Leave a Reply

