Scribbles

Duncton Wood

Daily Prompt: Judgment Day

by michelle w. on March 27, 2013

If you were to judge your favorite book by its cover, would you still read it?

First things first. Favourites. I hate trying to pick them. It’s almost impossible. Even if I break things into Genre specific groups , I still have a hard time picking just one.

It’s never that clear cut.

Favourite Album. Don’t even go there.

Sport is different. I can pick one team and stay with them through thick and thin but give me a bunch of stuff I own and ask me to pick my favourite.

Aaarrrrggghhhh!!!!!

So it is with some trepidation that I approach this Daily Prompt. There are, as you may have gathered now, a number of possible candidates for favourite book. Do I say a little about each out loud here in Blogland or mull quietly over my problem until the bath overflows with water?

Hmmmmmm. That’s the sound of me pondering just in case you were wondering. As a side note it is perhaps worth me pointing out that it was a fairly lengthy ponder. About a minute actually. For me to give you the reader a real sense of how long that ponder was I would have had to write about two pages of hmmmmmmmm. Well maybe one. But a lot of hmmmmmmmmm. Spellcheck is now trying to figure out for itself the specific length of a hmmmmmmmm. It is failing miserably as my fingers rest on the m key until I want to stop. I am not going back and counting m’s. No way.

So whilst I pondered I came to a decision. There is a book I can choose. Well there are in fact 6 of them but it is essentially one story so I am going to say it counts. The first book of the two Trilogies, The Duncton Chronicles and the Book of Silence, was called Duncton Wood. Below is the cover.

Duncton Wood by William Horwood.

I can’t remember what drew me to the book in the first place but the cover obviously did not deter me and so by default I can say I did not, therefore make a negative judgement of it. Perhaps the view of two moles in conversation intrigued me.

Perhaps the setting illustrated on the cover, a quintessential English Beech woodland, called to the spirit of the outdoors that dwelled in me. Perhaps intuitively I knew it was a book I should read. Who knows? There is something gentle about the illustration. Something that whispers of times past, ancient times where secret knowledge was locked into the land by Druidic craft.

Am I saying that in some way my judgement was a good one? A sound one? I am indeed, but only with the hindsight of a story consumed and remembered, like a good meal and a full glass of wine.

This is a story of life, of death, of spirit and the eternal struggle between good and evil, between right and wrong. It is a story for all times. It is, I believe a story to be read and savoured by all.

The main protaganists are moles but in essence they are you and me. Once into the story you will forget you are human. You will see and think as a mole does, becoming one with that environment. It is when all is said and done a journey into self.

I heartily recommend it to you.

  1. Is this counted as deja vu? | 祝福
  2. Can you judge a book by its cover? | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  3. Cover Stories (Daily Prompt) | Prompt Queen
  4. Daily Prompt: Judgment Day | My Atheist Blog
  5. Daily Prompt: Judgment Day | Reviewer Rose
  6. Daily Prompt: Judgement Day | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  7. Daily Prompt: Judgment Day | The Blogging Path
  8. Judgement Day at the Bookstore | Breathing Space
  9. Don’t Judge Me! | theconsciouswriter
  10. When the book is closed, the story ended….. | To the future from the past
  11. Daily Prompt: Judge Not! | Not The Sword But The Pen
  12. Even authors judge books by their covers | The Flavored Word
  13. The Story of a Murderer | Natalie Elizabeth Beech
  14. Daily Prompt: Judgment Day | Moonlight Reflections
  15. I’m Making Happiness
  16. Daily Prompt: Judgment Day | I’m Making Happiness
  17. Daily Prompt: 3/27/13 | One for the Big Guy.. sometimes.
  18. My Life and Life of Pi: a.k.a. that book over there by the drinking fountain with the tiger on it | A Writer’s Touch

4 thoughts on “Duncton Wood”

Leave a Reply

