Who are you?

Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy
by michelle w. on March 28, 2013

We cry for lots of reasons: sadness, pain, fear . . . and happiness. When was the last time you shed tears of joy?

In a very recent BLOG I described a sporting moment of high drama and intensity. Watching my team lift that particular trophy, whilst standing with my arms around my son’s shoulders, made me shed a tear or two of joy.

That’s it. The easiest Daily Prompt to date.

In other news I have been wondering this last few weeks what I would blog about without my Daily Prompt and whether or not it is akin to my own set of ‘Scribblers Stabilizers’ (or Training Wheels)

As I wobble my way along the virgin tarmacadam, that is my road of compositional possibility, I am perhaps beginning to get a feel for what it is like to write Daily, or to write at all. To allow the possibility that words may just come……. Flow………. Find the page.

Do they have to make sense?

Do they have to have meaning?

Can they just be a list of questions?

Who am I talking to here?

How long will I use the DP to push my writing envelope before I take off the stabilizers and head along the road on two fingers? ( I don’t type very quickly or with many digits )

I have, according to my WordPress stats, now accumulated a number of followers.

44 follow paul scribbles and 87 follow me over at paul dear photography.

Wow. That’s 131 people in total. I think that’s a lot. I know there are folks with thousands but 131 have showed at least a passing interest in what I ramble on about or take pictures of.

Who are you?

Well whatever the answer is, Thank You. Yes You.

What I want to do now is to try to find a way to engage more with you all. Talk and stuff. No I won’t be asking for your mobile number 😉 Internet talk. Trading comments. Having discussions.

I get likes and I get pingbacks but few actual comments. How do I address that? Start a conversation? Ask for opinions? Visit YOU more often perhaps ( I am so very very bad at that…apologies)

On the photo blog I started a challenge and we’ll see where that goes. I am hopeful it will take root and grow into something. But what about here? I’m curious.

So, for this Blog here’s a question.

What made you click ‘follow’ over here at paul scribbles?

Let’s talk.

27 responses to “Who are you?

  1. I might not visit every time you post, but sometimes something in the title or a little bit of what is in the email, grabs my attention and I visit. Once I read what you have written I click like. It’s very simple. I like to read and learn from most of what you write/blog.

    • I appreciate you dropping by and sharing that. Makes the whole thing seem more real. My biggest challenge is to try and make time to get out and about in the WordPress community and read other folks stuff. Mostly I am cramming in time to write so I find it tricky.

  2. Who are you? 🙂
    A fellow writer, an artist, and a reader. A procrastinator (right now, with deadlines pressing upon me, I should not be reading your words, nor responding to your question!), a good friend, a teller of jokes (good and bad), and a person capable of the heights of joy and the depths of despair. Joy wins out by far.
    I’d like to think I’m a teller of stories I’ve yet to write, a painter of dreams I’ve yet to imagine and someone who could set out on a grand adventure at any moment.

    And … thanks for asking.

  3. I was originally drawn to this corner of WordPress by a comment you made on one of my Daily Prompt posts. It was either funny, witty, or sarcastic. Probably all of the above.

    I then came on over and discovered what was behind the curtain and behind the grizzled black and white image of the beardless Hemingway. Words. You love for the written language keeps me coming back.

    Thank you.

    • Thank you for dropping by to say so. I wasn’t aware of a Celtic thing here, but perhaps my roots are more evident to some.

      • It was the convention you recently went to that gave me that vibe…or maybe I just wished it to be that way ;)? Anyways, I like both the musings and the photos!

      • Well that’s that cleared up then 😉 Glad you enjoy a visit here too. I also love dropping by and reading your poems.

      • Well that’s that cleared up then 😉 Glad you enjoy a visit here too. I also love dropping by and reading your poems.

  4. Pingback: I Have A Kneed To Cry | The Jittery Goat·

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy | Joe's Musings·

  6. Pingback: The Shape Of Things To Come – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur·

  7. Pingback: Tears of Joy! | Bullets & Dreams·

  8. I feel the same way about DP. It can become a crutch. Without DP, it takes much more thought to blog a post, and I think the non-DP posts are much more from the heart. Occasionally when there’s no DP or for some reason I don’t do it, I might post something different or a photo, but I need to stop using it as a crutch and stimulate more truly creative entries.

    • Long time ago for me now and I never use DP these days and am a rare poster. Thanks for dropping in and leaving a comment and good luck going cold turkey with DP.

  9. I see that you have LOTs of comments on this post and since this was written a year ago, you have met a lot of people and have had wonderful discussions. You asked who we are? I am me and there is no one like me and that is a good thing (I think?) 😀 Happy New Year!

    • Thanks for dropping in and reviving an old thread…Originally it was Daily Prompt who asked ‘Who Are You?’ but this turned into an open question. Good to hear you are happy being unique.

Leave a Reply

