The only way is out, baby.

Daily Prompt: Escape!
by michelle w. on April 3, 2013

Describe your ultimate escape plan (and tell us what you’re escaping from).

I have already escaped. There was no plan. It was kind of an evolutionary move.

I have removed myself from the capitalist mindset that drives a significant proportion of the planet.

I have renounced totally and unequivocally all things material. Well the bits I don’t like anyhow.

I am keeping my van. It is useful. I am keeping my drums too.

They are the tools of my trade.They live in the van.

Of course I must keep my PC and my mobile phone.

How else would I blog Dear Reader?

My camera stays too because I would look very stupid owning a Photography Blog with no camera.

Yes I could use the phone but cameras look way more cool. Especially old film ones.

Then you can say ‘I am an Artist dahling’ at strangers who pass and ask.

Not that I am in any way bothered about how cool I look.

I am above all that nonsense now.

I will also drink an occasional cappuccino.

It will be necessary to relieve the stress of having totally given up everything.

Everything, I tell you. Apart from those essential things outlined above.

Those and the tobacco ( see cappuccino) and the occasional beer ( see tobacco) and

of course I have to eat so I may as well make sure it is quality produce.

I am now totally free from the power of advertising and the deeply subliminal tentacles

of the media machine. Except when it comes to sport. Then I’m fucked to be honest.

I’m like some kind of Pavlovian sports experiment. If it appears, I will watch it.

I don’t watch anything else on TV though. Well not much.

I do like the Simpsons but they are subversive man so it doesn’t count and the TV along

with the house it lives in all belong to Mrs Scribbles, which makes her extremely materialistic

in my eyes and absolves me totally from any claims of capitalistic tendencies.

Luckily for her though she has my enlightened being around the place to help balance out

her ‘Material Possessions Karma’

I would go and live in a cave and chant OM everyday, wearing naught but a loincloth,

but she would miss me terribly and so I have selflessly chosen to put her needs above mine

and to co-habit with her in this rather luxurious, fully furnished Yorkshire Cottage in the Heart

of the magnificent Calderdale countryside. Somebody has to live here.

I have also opted to eat a sumptuous 3 course meal every evening with her so that she feels her

cooking is appreciated. I’m that kind of guy.

You can do that sort of thing when you have escaped from the system.

When you are free.

So I will choose to live in the world but not be of it and I will meditate daily upon the state of things in

the hope that all of my fellow man will eventually follow suit.

Not Mrs Scribbles though. Somebody has to pay the mortgage.

This Blog was brought to you courtesy of Pure Escapism 😉

  1. Ilya Fostiy. Verdict | Inside My Glitching Mind
  2. Escape! – I’m Afraid Of The Dark
  3. 3rd April Daily Prompt: Escape! | Family Photos Food & Craft
  4. 58/366 – The Great Escape | Camera Girl
  5. Daily Prompt: Escape! | The Gozum Show
  6. Go fly a kite… | Sweet Somethings
  7. The Greatest Escape | The Jittery Goat
  8. Singaporean sleeplessness | Mind Heart Journeys
  9. Daily Prompt: Escape Plan for Tornado | My Daily Prompt Blog
  10. Daily Prompt: Escape! « Mama Bear Musings
  11. Escaping the future | Prompt Queen
  12. Daily Prompt: Escape! 3rd April, 2013 | ittikorn1994
  13. The Hidden Cottage | Hope* the happy hugger
  14. Ready to Quit | Daily Prompt: Escape! | likereadingontrains
  15. Daily Prompt: Escape! | Of Glass & Paper
  16. Escape from the demons of my mind | My unsorted thoughts
  17. Daily Prompt: Escape! | Dianaruth’s Journal
  18. Don’t look back | Spunky Wayfarer
  19. Daily Prompt: Escape! | JUkk
  20. My worst nightmare | The Local Lens
  21. Embrace | Conversations
  22. Escape | Miss Pelican’s Perch
  23. Human Hearts… | Haiku By Ku
  24. Daily Prompt: The Pen | One Starving Activist
  25. Escape! | Drama Queen Under the Sun
  26. Daily Prompt: Escape! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  27. Escape! | The Nameless One
  28. Daily Prompt: Escape! | My Atheist Blog
  29. The Ultimate Escape | The Story Grey
  30. Daily Prompt and Then Some | Pondering Spawned
  31. Escape! Sort of… | thoughtsofrkh
  32. Daily Prompt: Escape! | baka’s blog
  33. Daily Prompt: Escape! | Lines by Linda
  34. BTDTGTTS | The Daily Dilly Dally
  35. Daily Prompt: Escape! | The Blogging Path
  36. Escape! | artist. hippie. cali chick. chic. nerd. beach bum. fashionista.
  37. Can One Escape from MUNI? | Not The Sword But The Pen
  38. Life is Not a Sack of Shit | Breathing Space
  39. Es-Cah-PAY! | Sisters of Christ
  40. My Greatest Escape | Creative and Juicy
  41. I’m second. | jaycee68
  42. Bug Out Bags | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  43. Escape! | Misifusa’s Blog
  44. The Great Escape | Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness
  45. Escape! More Than Just A Journey Album – Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur
  46. April 3 Daily Prompt: Escape! | Nadeen’s Corner

9 responses to “The only way is out, baby.

    • Hmm……perhaps my sarcastic tone wasn’t sarcastic enough…I was kinda taking the mickey out of myself. Maybe it doesn’t come across that way?

  1. Is this post a little tongue in cheek Mr Scribbles because for someone who escapes you sure have a lot of ‘essentials’ – enjoyed the read anyway 🙂

    • Why Serena, you have uncovered me? I think it would be fair to say the whole of my tongue was in the whole of my cheek. Glad you enjoyed. x

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Escape! | life n me!·

Leave a Reply

