Līgo Haibun Challenge –

Re-visited for dVerse #181

originally written Oct 2013

This week it’s a word prompt-Treasure or Despair.

~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~

Leaves fall from the Beech trees in Hardcastle Crags. Light from the sun enables them to dance momentarily. On the ground they are still. As is the world. It is not the same anymore. She has gone. Only her memory flickers in the passing of autumn. She was a dancer.

autumn to winter

effortlessly passing by

unlike my despair

59 responses to “Līgo Haibun Challenge –

  1. I loved this on two levels – it took me back to family holidays in Yorkshire, roaming around with my mum and step-Dad, losing my wellies in the mud on a hike… and also because this said so much, in so few words.

  2. You haibun had very soft, light touches as your memory came alive and danced. A very nice haibun. Your haiku was intriguing, and the despair is driven home – one feels it is real. Thanks for joining us, it’s a nice community – I will be putting a prompts suggestion page shortly and will advise.

    • Thanks. I found the idea of Haibun very appealing and I look forward to contributing more to the community.

  3. So much in so few words – said, revealed, noticed. And probably the most powerful is the hinge of what has not been said fully. Beautiful haibun and the haiku…like a leaf that was supposed to fall exactly there and exactly the way it did.

  4. You have said so much in this haibun in a very concise manner, which can be a challenge. I think it is a very moving piece. Thank you for linking up with dVerse! 🙂

  5. The haibun is beautifully written and the pain expressed here feels as deep as the crag. The ripples of a haibun can be felt long after it has been written and I can only hope they feel a lot softer now.

    • It still ripples. This was in response to a prompt…despair…I took a situation that was current and extrapolated the worst scenario in order to access the emotion or idea of despair…in reality the situation walked down a very different road. I love the phrase ‘s deep as the crag’

  6. I’m new to haibun , too. It’s lovely and evocative (of past experiences here…) yours….I hope you do write more…a wonderful, delicate and tender beginning.

  7. Lovely to revisit both your despair & your newbie Haibun. The Haibun has become, the past couple of years, my favorite form. I can’t help but tinker & experiment with it, adding more than one haiku or senryu to it, making several prose paragraphs, letting the lines create new visual stimuli. dVerse has enriched so many of our lives, & our poetics

    • I can see that dVerse is fantastic space to hang out and learn…I’m a dipper sadly as music takes me away from internets for which I am eminently thankful :0 Haibun was the old one…I just thought I’d re-use it as I landed late in the bar. Did I cheat?

Leave a Reply

