Catch the rain

Imagine trying to catch the rain.

All of it.

Think about that for a minute.

What image does it present? What story does it tell?

Why would I even think of that?

Sometimes when the darkness approaches and I know it is coming, I reach out a hand as if I can stop it.

It’s like trying to catch the rain.

6 responses to “Catch the rain

  1. While highly unlikely that we can alter rain or darkness –
    we are changed by their presence in the atmosphere.
    Maybe that is enough?

    I’ve been in hurricane wind rooms in museums. A rain room would be a fascinating way to study weather.

    • Whilst I am changed by the darkness that sometimes falls upon me my sense is that it is not a positive change. I am more familiar with it as years pass but no matter how much I accept it I cannot prevent it arriving as much as I wish it would not. It is as futile to attempt as it is to try and catch the rain.

      • Darkness does not always have to be seen negatively.
        In acceptance there is a dance of recognition – sometimes wild, sometimes free. Sometimes that dance is on a stage that no one else will ever see.

        There is much we share, and much we do not.
        Futility could it be a gift? Like honoring nightmares by writing them down. How futile is that? But there is that hope that once written…honored… those hostile visions will turn to dust to be washed away by the rain…

      • I hear you loud and clear and yes futility can be a gift…it led me to write this piece and perhaps deepened my understanding of my own personal dance with depression…but, and this is my point, I am still depressed. It will pass. This I know but it is the underlying ‘feeling’ that is present when it is here that I am trying to describe as un-grasp-able. It stays till it’s done. I can know I am depressed and I can do nought about it.

      • I have been there…
        and often visit.
        You are welcome to e-mail me anytime.
        Though I am only as you another poet attempting expression.

        May our expression elevate as well as inspire.

  2. Thanks. I appreciate the offer and am more than happy to dialogue in public. It may inspire/elevate others too.
    I have a very good network of helpful souls around me and in that respect I count myself very fortunate.

Leave a Reply

