Friday Fictioneers 100 Word Story Challenge.

Once again I roll with the wave that is serendipity and today it has led me here.

The Friday Fictioneers Challenge.  (Hey it’s Wednesday!!)

Here is a note from the baton holder Rochelle

As always, writers are encouraged to be as innovative as possible with the prompt and 100 word constraints.

Henry David Thoreau said it best.

“It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see.”

THE CHALLENGE:

Write a one hundred word story that has a beginning, middle and end. (No one will be ostracized for going a few words over the count.)

THE KEY:

Make every word count.

The prompt is visual, the photo below.
My story is below the image.

This was not supposed to happen. I’d taken the keyboard off the synthesizer to check the wiring but nothing seemed out of place. One chord. Blinding flash. Now nothing!
That was not my plug in the wall.That was not my wall come to think of it. My watch had stopped. 8.01 am June 21st 1971.
I looked around me. The clock on the wall said 8.02 June 21st. Someone’s wall. Not mine. What was going on here?

The newspaper fell through the letterbox. I picked it up. It was 2013.

I had invented one way time travel.

Shit!

34 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers 100 Word Story Challenge.

  1. annisik51 says:

    I was a bit puzzled about which way in time he’d blown himself into, but confused about where and when I am is my native condition. Anyway, I’m a sucker for any story about ‘Time’, so loved this. Maybe your character’ll find The Lost Chord and maybe it’ll be the one that gets him home. Roll over H G Wells. Inventive use of the prompt. 🙂

Leave a Reply

