Picture Inspired Haibun

photo by Dr Agnieszka Wojtecka

Tonight over at dVerse we are challenged to write a free for all Haibun by host Toni Spencer

She says “That being said, today is a Free For All…meaning, you pick the subject upon which you wish to write.  There are rules of course – (1) The haibun must be non-fiction (2) The occurance must have actually happened to you (3) You are to write one to two tight paragraphs and (4) End it with a season based haiku.”

Here is my second submission, written some time ago in response to the photo above as a prompt. It does I feel fit the theme somewhat.It is not a specific occurrence but relates to how I have felt on many occasions.

***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***     ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***

I had searched long and hard through the winter months. Into the mountains and beyond. Fruitlessly. I had not found my teacher. I had failed the task he had set. ‘Look for me everywhere’ he had said. I had done so. I had walked miles and miles across the plateaus where the Holy men had guided me. I had stood lonely in the cold dawn. Sightless. I had surrendered. Now I was back in the city streets. I glanced along the bustling road, light dancing amidst the play of life. The play of life. Lila. The phrase landed upon my senses like a butterfly upon a flower. Gently but with great grace. Suddenly I knew. My teacher was present. ‘Look for me everywhere’.

~-~

in a spring moment

veiled eyes could see so clearly

all that was here now

~-~

41 thoughts on “Picture Inspired Haibun

  1. Ye Pirate says:

    Now that was………..superlative……………….will add you in the Honourable Mentions for this week. It’s hard to comment so quickly after reading, because one wants to contemplate on this. Quite magical. Basho would have really approved…

  2. Brenda says:

    Very beautiful, wow! I love that: :Sightless. I had surrendered” so many times that is when true revelation comes. So gorgeous and mysterious the denouement. Well done. Great poetry.

  3. whippetwisdom says:

    This haibun fits so well with tonight’s theme and I am glad you are sharing it here. ‘Suddenly I knew. My teacher was present. ‘Look for me everywhere’.’ is such a powerful revelation.

  4. katiemiafrederick says:

    WeLL.. back
    to the beach
    heRe.. Emerald waves..
    salt air sugar white sands..
    sea oats breezing pure white
    gulls gulf
    i am
    all oF
    Ocean
    iS wHOle..
    First oNE at 18..
    Second OnE at 21..
    53 stayed ONe to
    date aT 56 ONE
    Ocean wHole continues..
    hiStory oF Lamp liT for me2..;)

  5. Mish says:

    If only we all knew that life had so many teachers within us and surrounding us, instead of wasting our time searching. I love this insightful, enlightening haibun.

  6. kanzensakura says:

    An amazing haibun. One of those I call classic philosophical. I love the way you used Lila…which not strictly true, it is true in the sense of the search, the raison d’etre. Therefore, it is true even if it is not nonfiction. Now that’s a Zen answer for ya. But the haiku at the end is spectacular. I have dreamed often of writing such a haiku but always fell short.

Leave a Reply

