Haibun

Fall into it

Hosted by Ese’s Voice and Ye Pirate

So this week, in innovation week, make a choice between haiku or tanka, or pathya vat from Cambodia, or thanbauk from Burma, now Myanmar, to go with your prose. You may also choose another form.

Pathya vat is a four-line poem, with 4 syllables each line – and line 2 and 3 must rhyme.

Thanbauk is poetry of three lines with four syllables on each line. The rhyme pattern of thanbauk can be seen below, with 4th, 3rd and 2nd syllables rhyming in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd lines.

Let’s generally label the requirements frameworks. In tanka they are (notionally for Līgo Haibun) 5-7-5-7-7 syllables.

Should you prefer to use the haiku as is customary, there are 3 forms that are variants. One is the 5-7-5 syllable English language format, which stresses form over meaning. another one that is popular is the haiku over 3 lines with no more than 17 syllables in total, but no line requirement, and the third is freestyle with no syllable count over 3 lines.

You can find more information with examples here: Līgo Haibun Challenge 15/11-22/11

This week is quote prompt week. You do not need to include the quote in the haibun, and normally it is not included but used as inspiration for your haibun. As always, choose one.

It is not enough to know how to ride – you must also know how to fall. – Mexican Proverb

OR

It is solved by walking. – Algerian Proverb

-~-~-~-~-~-~-~

I am going to write my piece inspired by the Mexican Proverb and am sticking with the Haiku/Haibun formula as I am still new to this form and wanting to sit with it longer.

~-~-~-~-~-~-

I tumbled off the edge of the world and fell. Long and hard into the abyss. Darkness wrapped itself around my core like some deadly serpent of the night and pulled me deep into the dread I had feared. I was lost. I gave up the endless, heartbreaking fight. I surrendered exhausted. Falling with no ground to hit. Terror wanes eventually and just falling becomes the norm. Just falling. Ha! A moment, an impulse, a blink and I am free. Dancing in the sky. There is no ground nor ever was. I never fell. I learned to fly.

-~-~-~-

All things I

thought I knew

now not true

-~-~-~-~-

24 thoughts on “Fall into it”

  1. Well that was an experience! I thought ‘where is he going’ as I was reading…and even…’oh no…he’s going down, down…he’s writing himself into a place he can’t get out of, why?’…’ then suddenly, swoop….the sudden feeling. I think you have a unique style that is almost a genre, reaching out and grabbing universal topics/subjects and dealing with them in a way that is like a very new road or direction each time. Well done. Nice read.

  2. This so much reminds me of the hawk in our area – that and my dreams of falling and flying. Often there seem (for me anyway) to be barriers -or tether I can not see, the invisible glass dome, or that as in the popular song… ‘…in dreams your feet never touch the earth.’

    For me the last line of verse might also read: ‘I learned to swim.’

    Your haiku is a lesson many need to at least attempt to learn.

    Thank you for your visit and kind words to my ligo haibun ‘Spell Bound: Twist’.

  3. There are so many things a reader can find here. I think that’s part of the beauty of this form of expression, different interpretations. And then the ending haiku pulls the rug out from under my feet.

    1. Thanks for that…the ending Haiku kinda takes you back to the beginning of the Haibun again so you can experience the fall, so ‘rug out from under the feet’ is good 😉

    1. Freya.
      That feels very nice to hear and I would like to thank you for saying so. I cannot explain it but the Haibun form feels like it has been waiting for me as a writer. There is something very simple about the style that fits with my view of life and so I do not think about my Haibun. I just write them.

      1. You are very welcome! Yes, I know what you mean about the haibun form – it just seems to work, doesn’t it? I don’t do much thinking about them either – they just come. All writing should flow so well… 😉

Leave a Reply

