Carpe Diem Challenge

I am not regular enough on the internet to complete all of the challenges at Carpe Diem and so will dip in and out as and when I visit. Here is one I can have a go at:

Dear Haijin, visitors and travelers,

Another day in haiku paradise and especially in Tan Renga Paradise this month. Another wonderful haiku to start a Tan Renga Challenge with. Today it’s a haiku in response on October’s prompt “Buddha” and it’s written by Cathy Tenzo of Haiku Plate Special. I think it’s an awesome haiku in which the Buddha is be seen as also just a human who had to go his way and fins his own path to Enlightenment. Here it is:

the Buddha himself


did not start enlightened


he walked the path

(c) Cathy Tenzo

Here is my 7-7 syllable response.

One step at a time he found

the journey became the goal

34 responses to “Carpe Diem Challenge

    • Thanks man. Music prompts sounds great but with my current schedule I’ll be lucky if I catch one or two of them. Ho Hum.

    • Glad you liked. I remembered a quote from some writings someplace that went along the lines of ‘It is better to travel than to arrive’ and it seemed like a good fit here.

  1. Nicely done Paul. I am glad that you visit Carpe Diem now and then. It’s just for fun and joy. No obligations. Hope to see you here again. December will be fun too. I have prepared musical prompts by a young musician. You’re welcome to participate … if you’ve time of course 🙂

  2. Pingback: On Buddha’s Vision | Simply Charming·

  3. Pingback: Arts And Haiku – allaboutlemon-All Around, In, And Out Of My Own Universe·

Leave a Reply

