Paul's Rhythm Journey

Finding the w(hole)

Weekly Haibun Challenge ~ image

All I see here is layers and immediately it made me think of an exercise I completed recently as part of a Drum Circle Facilitator’s Training.

I have done the exercise many times and this time, as with every time, I had a new experience. This is my attempt to put that into words.

I have attempted to insert a minighazel as well as a Haiku into this piece as we have been given licence to do so with this weeks prompt.

With thanks to Arthur Hull for the exercise.

~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~

I stand very slowly and with care. With each inch I rise, my hearing adjusts. Twenty two drummers sitting close together in a circle and me, the twenty third. I walk slowly and mindfully towards the centre, listening with every step to the changing sound-scape around me. I turn and face the hole I have left behind.

Using every part of me to do the seeing /
I allow this rhythm to fill up my being /

In this moment all I have is the sound of the /
drum guide me to that place deep within it's being //

I close my eyes and listen once more. Deeper than before. Slowly I begin to turn, eyes firmly shut, ears wide open. Round and round I go. Where I stop! Listening for the hole. Listening to the whole.For the whole. Opening my eyes I see. That which I was looking for, is not visible to the eye.

Is it a truth / 
 hidden deep within layers /
or just an onion //

12 thoughts on “Finding the w(hole)”

  1. I am astonished that my art work took you to such a powerful piece of writing. What an incredible workshop that must have been.

    1. It was and always is a powerful musical expression of community. Your image is wonderful and I wonder if you have it printed as a card perhaps?

      1. Printing my images as cards is an interesting idea. I’ll look into it this week. Thanks for your comment on my art.

  2. I like the images you introduce here. Finding that space within space. Perhaps even the place where we belong – even if just for a moment. The onion haiku reminds me of the cartoon ogre Shrek. Humor needs a place in our lives along with tears.

    Thank you for your insight.

  3. Very interesting concept – did some reading about it after reading your haibun. Fascinating. Your last sentence says it all, but you sit the mini ghazal and haiku in particularly well. Well done again.

    1. Thanks. It’s a very interesting exercise to do. Curious about what you found when reading around. Did you look for finding the w(hole) or Arthur Hull?

      1. I found the drummer7coach – yes…if I remember around average 10,000 USD for his session, then looked around at uses. Very interesting and it fits with my interest in cross-cultural stuff.

  4. that’s a lot of drummers in one place – i tried to close my eyes and imagine the sound of it. very interesting – everything from the community drumming and haibun. i enjoyed this moment. ☺

Leave a Reply

