inherent order

Ligo Haibun Challenge
My word is order. Here is the poem.

Original posting Nov 2013 and now revisited for Poetry Pantry #370 Sept 2017

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Once again I stare at the white space in front of me as I consider the prompt for this weeks Ligo Haibun Challenge. As I do so, a switch is thrown, and the writer in me is suddenly ‘ON’. Words tumble towards the whiteness of the WordPress dashboard and stick there as if they are somehow pre-ordained to do so. I wonder if there are other words trying to land, whose presence in my mind is not yet fully formed, and who pass like ghosts through the screen, to echo onward silently towards infinity, perhaps unseen and unheard. Or are there ears to hear them out there beyond all this? Ghost listeners for these future Ghost writings?

I can almost sense them now, passing through the spaces that these words here create, to dance their invisible dance into space and time. Is there some kind of mysterious cosmic order at work here? How do I know what to write and what to leave out? In a parallel universe are all my unwritten words written? So, whilst today more words have tumbled from my mind to form a written answer to the prompt, I am more mindful of those that did not find form. Does the formless have its own order?

formless Winter pen

finding space between form-

questions arising

50 responses to “inherent order

  1. i’m impressed how well your post form came through with your phone. i tried but after WP crashed so many times on my iPhone, i simply gave up. no patience.
    interesting question you bring up here in your haibun, now i’m wondering too. ☺

    • Thanks…connection bac k now for which I am grateful…good to extend myself and develop phone skills but it was fiddly.Glad to have provoked thought too.

  2. Pingback: Vanity Rain | Simply Charming·

  3. Didn’t realise you were a drummer, got it bit wrong maybe before – you raised a lot of questions in your introspective haibun – makes it a very enjoyable read and opens the mind. If you continue having troubles maybe you could blog from tumblr temporarily. You might lose some readers for a week or so, but gain others. Sounds like it is really a bother.

    • Drummer, drum circle facilitator, photographer…. 😉 I added an about me profile because I changed my theme and lost my old about me page…I’m not sure this theme shows more than one page…I’ll investigate…anyways glad you enjoyed the read and feel free to check the about me links above for more on ‘what I do’

  4. wow I loved this loved how you “wonder if words trying to land, whose presence in my mind is not yet fully formed” Almost spiritual as if the words come through you Now I am wondering that too

    • I think everything has the potential to be a spiritual experience in that sense. Washing the dishes, taking a walk…being fully immersed in the moment, which I am when I write.

  5. Reading this it is almost as though you take no responsibility for what you write as as it has a will of its own and you too are surprised at the result. I think you should sit back and relax as you may say “What a great writer I am”, and I would agree with you.

    • I am pretty relaxed. That’s why it comes this way. I take full responsibility for how I put the words together…just not for where they come from. 😉 Thanks for dropping by and for the compliment.

  6. I really enjoyed this poem which made me contemplate my own writing process, how words present themselves, and make their way to the page. You were really inspired with this one! Smiles.

  7. I am fascinated with the question of how we know what to leave on the page and what to leave out–thoughtful piece for me–

  8. This was, for me, a mesmerizing and compelling bit of writing. The notion of words being ‘pre-ordained’ I found fascinating. You really gave me pause with that. The prose and haiku dovetailed wonderfully well together – creating a lovely synergy in this brilliantly rendered haibun.

Leave a Reply

