Yggdrassil

This weeks challenge is a picture prompt (Ash Tree)

Added to the challenge is a word count of 123.
Here goes.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yggdrasil. The Sacred Ash tree. Three roots support it. One travels to the well of fate, Urðarbrunnr in the heavens, guarded by the Norns One to the spring Hvergelmir, wherein lie the Níðhöggr. One to the well of wisdom Mímisbrunnr guarded by Mimir Here  the Gods will hold their court. Here the Nine worlds are held. Atop the tree an Eagle and below a Dragon, enemies of a mortal kind whose words of anger were fed and fueled by the mischieveous squirrel Ratatoskr  Here sits this Tree of Life, until on that final fateful day, when Heimdallr blows Gjallarhorn and then Odin speaks with Mímir’s head.

Yggdrasill shivers,

the ash, as it stands.

The old tree groans,

and the giant slips free.[6]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Rather than Haiku to finish I have chosen to include a piece of the Völuspá from the Poetic Edda
Not my words but a fitting end to this piece, I hope you will agree.

Image credit

12 responses to “Yggdrassil

  1. This is just so interesting. I recently did a couple of haiku about Yggdrasil in Kristjaan’s Carpe Diem, on, and researched a bit for possible inclusion, but never went anywhere as far as this. I really do find this piece fascinating. It certainly feels like you’ve opened a whole book. Thank you – again. This is beyond any expectation, and I am frankly stunned at what you have up your sleeve. I do think the verse is fitting, yes, absolutely.

    • Norse mythology was all I read as a teenager.As soon as I saw the phot prompt I knew what I wanted to write.Getting it done in 123 words was tricky and technically the links offer many more words I guess but I think it works.

      • Yes, the shortened version really means you can only get the essence out on ‘paper’ – clever about the links! But actually it is very helpful, as I’m sure most readers will want to go to the pages anyway.

  2. I agree with Pirate. That is both fascinating and your use of links is very clever. You have piqued my curiosity here and I’ll follow those links. Using the edda to finish completes the piece.

  3. This is so tantalizing. Like an outline, should you plan to come back and grow flesh and blood on these bones, I think you would have an outstanding story. The poetic edda excerpt is like a birth story, Athena springing from Zeus fully grown. What happens to the giant born? It stirs my imagination, making me see things through the mists.

    • Perhaps I will…writing at the moment is something I try to snatch time to do…maybe I will be able to create more space for it down the road. The Giant (Mimir), or at least his head, is released rather than born. as he was always present at the well. As with all mythology there are variations upon themes and if you search you will find more than one recounting of the tale of Mimir.Glad you enjoyed this.

      • I have in my mind to write a Norse fairy tale, and I love that you left those links. I may have to do it!! But I snatch time to write, too, and longer projects are difficult right now.

  4. very interesting and actually great with the links otherwise i, hang my head in shame, would have been lost for sure. i also like how you remodeled your blog site. nice ☺

  5. Pingback: Awakening | Simply Charming·

Leave a Reply

