whispers

The first Friday this year has come as well as the first Līgo Haibun Challenge of 2014 – with the Picture Prompt. Although I have written essentially a Haibun I am quoting another poet so will put this into mthe ‘scribbles’ box.

Picture by kind permission of Ines Williamson

Empty street. All the people have left. Bar one. Phosphorescent light bathes the brick floor and I stand alone in the world. Empty Me! There is something beautiful about early morning, even in a town. The world is sleeping, quiet, dreaming a collective dream and I stand here amidst the thought streams that dance across the morning, searching for answers to questions that were never consciously asked, and I am empty. In a pure and clean sort of way. Empty as in ready. Empty but waiting to be filled. As the morning is new and fresh, so is life. It’s a new day. It’s a new beginning. Gratitude rises up inside of me and I feel a sensation akin to trembling move from inside to out. I raise my hands to the sky and call out a heartfelt Thank You to the elemental universe. To everything. All in it’s place. Inside an empty me. Pure paradox engulfs me and I understand that I must be empty in order to be full. I must let go in order to receive. Words from  Rumi come to my mind and I hear them in my mind as if his long past spirit whispers to me.

Be helpless, dumbfounded,
Unable to say yes or no.
Then a stretcher will come from grace
To gather us up.We are too dull-eyed to see that beauty
If we say we can, we’re lying.
If we say No, we don’t see it,
That No will behead us
And shut tight our window onto spirit.So let us rather not be sure of anything,
Besides ourselves, and only that, so
Miraculous beings come running to help.
Crazed, lying in a zero circle, mute,
We shall be saying finally,
With tremendous eloquence, Lead us.
When we have totally surrendered to that beauty,
We shall be a mighty kindness.*

The words are  lifted up onto the wings of the morning where they take flight. A prayer for the world. Let Go.

song our time

if we only sing it

sky blue black

This has been my 100th post.

Mewlana Jalaluddin Rumi. All rights reserved

21 thoughts on “whispers

  1. Suzanne says:

    These times we live in seem to be very much about letting go of all that stops and blocks us from awareness of our spiritual being. Your words are both timely and beautifully written. Thank you.

    • paulscribbles says:

      Thanks Suzanne. It is a very interesting time but perhaps no more than any other. I am sure my ancestors may have stood gazing up at the night sky in awe and felt the same gratitude. I think the process of letting go may be something that has been with the human race for thousands of years and there have been Spiritual Sages in abundance through the ages. Are we any different really?

  2. Brenda says:

    Very deep thoughts. What is inside us matters more than what is outside, the way we think is the one thing we can control. I love what you did with this prompt.

    • paulscribbles says:

      I agree we can control thoughts but I also think that is only possible where there is emotional harmony. Some of our actions and thoughts may be rooted in old patterns of thinking and behaving that may need to be released to allow us to make more conscious choices. Not always an easy process in my own personal experience.

  3. Anja says:

    This is just beautiful. The best times for me come when I am alone, outside and really feel everything that I am grateful for. Wonderful!

  4. Ye Pirate says:

    Sombre, deep, and a great use of a moment’s reflection outside on a street corner. Let go is a powerful concept. One cannot just walk away from this without some important thoughts.

Leave a Reply

