Blue Monday

Another Friday has brought along a new Līgo Haibun Challenge.

This week is quote week again. I have chosen the following Russian proverb:

The church is near but the road is all ice; the tavern is far but I’ll walk very carefully.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I didn’t even bother to open the curtains. I could smell the snow from where I was lying beneath my warm duvet. I could smell it because I wanted to. The weatherman had forecast snow on the TV and from that moment onward this was going to be a sick day. A blue Monday. A white Monday actually. I dialed the number for work knowing I would get the answer machine. I left a croaky voiced message and hung up. I switched off my phone and curled up in the warmth. Total self indulgence today. My day. Fair excuse. No guilt. I lay planning my work- free time. After some well deserved lie in time I will take the camera out with me on a hike and see if I can add some good winter shots to my calendar to be. All shot on days off work. I might even give the boss a copy.

Easy to avoid

that which does not feed my soul

four seasons in print

~~~~~~~~~

11 thoughts on “Blue Monday

  1. Anja says:

    Oh how I wished for a day like that last week when it was freezing. 🙂 I also would prefer to grab my camera to get lost in the beauty around me or sit and draw it….I enjoyed this haibun.

  2. julespaige says:

    I bet your calendar is spectacular. I’m just trying to make a four season panel of this one portion of my yard. As I actually got a rather good shot of it filled with snow – this winter. Traipsed around the front to back so as not to get foot prints in the pic. Now I just have to remember to get the rest of the seasons from the same angle.

    My train ride wasn’t fiction…though I’m glad it danced off the page 🙂
    It is neither unique or odd I suppose that when you go to an event and it is over – that it can seem imagined.

    Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

