Samye Ling

The journey towards Eskdalemuir was made all the more pleasurable by the scenery along the way. Early morning mists sitting atop the hills, bathed in a serene kind of light, set the tone for the day for me. It was eminently peaceful, as if the land were whispering a good morning. On arrival at Samye Ling  I was immediately drawn to the golden statue of Tara bathed in bright morning sunlight, sitting in the  Medicine Garden.

Medicine Tara

It had obviously been situated there, facing East,  to catch the early rising rays and it was animated by a glowing luminescence. Almost as if it were dancing. The Victory Stupa sat by a Zen like garden complete with curved bridge and still waters. It was impossible not to notice the serenity. I sat. Just sat.
Reflected Stupa
Brings me to the Buddha Mind
There is only Now.

Victory Stupa

Afterwards I walked clockwise around the Stupa, mindful of the rhythms of the turning Prayer Wheels

Prayer Wheel House

Along from the Stupa lies another pond within which is a wonderful statue of Nagarjuna

Nagarjuna

Prayer flags flutter in the wind harmonising the elements in both person and environment.

Prayer Flags

The Cloutie Tree offers a chance to make a wish.

The Cloutie Tree

A final stop at the Temple offered me an opportunity to hear the prayers and chants of the Monks and to sit in silence for some time once more. I am aware of a death in the community, one of the founders, and the brother of the sitting Abbot, was killed recently on a visit to China. The pointlessness of this act sits heavily on me as I observe my silence. Such is the world we live in.

Tibetan Temple

The journey back to Wiston was also beautiful, as the dying sun bounced it’s last light of the hilltops, soft, warm and welcoming us home.

The Southern Uplands ~ Photo by Bob Hamilton

There is something about the play of light on the land that is very much about the present moment.
It sings very clearly….This is it.

8 thoughts on “Samye Ling

    • paulscribbles says:

      Thanks Brenda…I suppose I am Spiritual, although that word has some other connotations for me, which are not particularly positive…I like to think I am consciously mindful and always working on things that can improve and broaden my awareness of the world that I and others inhabit.
      In Peace
      P x

Leave a Reply

