Haibun

timelessness

Haibun Thinking:

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”- Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Life moves. Why the need for time? Why ask about the hours and minutes? Why measure it at all? Fast or slow. Time. Does the sun watch a clock awaiting it’s moment to rise or to sink below the horizon? Does the wind wonder how fast it blows? Does the wild beast wait in line for dinner? Why not stop and look around once in a while? Why not be present in every moment? Every step? Every breath? I cannot miss that which I am. The eternal. Here at the heart of it all, Life whispers magical words to my soul and sings to me the song of myself. Only here. Only now.

Peace every step.

Breathing in I am here now.

Witness to it All.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Picture Courtesy of~ http://www.flickr.com/photos/amyrubinflett/

19 thoughts on “timelessness”

  1. The lesson of living in the moment is not an easy one. And reminds me of the praise that ‘Youth is wasted on the young.’ – though I think that isn’t entirely true. In our youth we might be more in tune to take risks. While in the autumn of our lives we tend to look back rather than forward. Living in the now is a present gift.

    Nature moves without emotion, nature just is. It is the human soul that seeks to humanize everything and sometimes misses out on the beauty that just is.

    Thank you for your kind words on my contribution.

    1. I definitely had my first profound experiences of ‘Being in the Moment’ in my youth and I learned to appreciate them then. I have an aspiration to step peacefully one breath at a time but of course you are right. It is not an easy lesson…but one worth pursuing.

  2. I like this.

    If we stop looking at the time, stop hurrying to get from there to there and thinking about where we go after that, we would have more time to think – or not think, just act – on what we do right now. We could stop and smell the roses, Make daisy chains. Make mud pies. If we ignore time, we can be more at peace.

    Thanks for taking part in our first week Paul.

    1. Time is a construct and one that impinges enormously on our life…..there have to be moments of no time for me.Essential.

  3. You were able to write something after all. 🙂 This is lovely and very true. I am reading a book that really deals with this thought of “measuring” time. It is Aleph by Paulo Coehlo. I am not done with it, but so far so good.

  4. Good advice, to be always present, great haibun. Life does seem to accelerate as it passes us by, like an illusion of changing speed, a trick by the universe to prove that we only value things in short supply.

    1. Having just celebrated Burns night here in Scotland I cannae pass up a chance to quote the Bard here….

      “Then catch the moments as they fly

      And use them as ye aught man

      Believe me, happiness is shy

      And comes not aye when sought man

      Live for now, for it’s a’ ya know”

  5. I think this really opens the concept to meditate on. But I fear your inner peace and ability/desire to experience each breath, and moment, is sometimes a skill too often ignored. For a long time I found the watch an unnecessary addition. I am not so sure now. Some are intrinsically motivated, and would find your words soothing and applicable. Others, extrinsically motivated, might find the wonderful way you compose your pieces a pleasure to read, but they may find adaption a long haul. Can they change their approach? Yes, perhaps. In some ways I feel a comparison to the one who never cooks without a recipe, or always takes an umbrella when stepping outside. They are wrong. So that means I agree.

  6. Recipe’s, umbrella’s and watches all have their place and each of us our own aspirations/desires. My wish is to aspire to the mindful taking of every breath and of every step and to share that aspiration not for encouragement nor to offer a path, but to simply say here i am.In reality i fall short…by a long way but in my writing I can touch the ideal.

Leave a Reply

