One Love

Late to the party this week folks but here is my entry.

FILM QUOTE:

“Don’t forget – I’m just a girl, standing in front of a boy,
asking him to love her.”

– Notting Hill

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

He sat in the diner looking as if he were about to slide under the table…a cool kinda angle….arm across the back of the chair…hips slung low…long hair curled around his leather clad shoulders….he sipped from the coffee cup and took a drag on his cigarette. In the background Jim Morrison posed a question…. roaring out with a snarl from the Juke Box. “Who Do You Love?” It got him thinking. Who indeed.? ‘Do I project all of my own insecurities and doubts outward onto some unsuspecting future perfect partner in a vain attempt to fix me? Do I focus my love inward and work with what I have got here already before I open my heart? Do I open myself to the, what did Rumi call him?…The Beloved? Do I just say screw all that and go out there and have some fun? Just love life y’know? What is Love anyway? It’s complicated man’ he thought to himself. Then she walked into the diner.  Long dark raven curls fell either side of her face, bouncing with her deliberate gait. Panther like in her movements, she was tall and powerful. Her eyes smouldered with life and with fire. I am alive, was the message. Fully present and beautiful. She was a Goddess. His rational mind collapsed in on itself and he stared. Long and hard. His heart was beating faster and his breath was shallow. Was this just desire? No. A voice inside him was as clear as a bell. She’s the one.

Heart all a flutter

It seems like the world just changed

now It must be love

~~~~

Check out the other great Haibun writers below

3 responses to “One Love

  1. A powerful moment. I like the way the man’s cool rational and detached approach to life crumbles when faced with that most irrational of human experiences, love at first sight.

  2. I love the music that always interweaves your words, here with your almost tongue in cheek lyric references. It reminds me of a ZZ Top song, but I can’t remember the title. I like the raw passion in this, open to love, ready in that moment. I hope she isn’t married or psycho. Always a risk to fall in love with the walk she walks and not the talk she talks. 🙂 Warmly, Brenda

Leave a Reply

