At the Heart of the Matter

Haibun Thinking

This week I have gone with a ‘Quote Prompt’ late in the week and an apology to all group members for not getting round to reading your entries…crazy busy week about to get even busier…I may be Awol for a few days but will try and get round all the work at some point.

Today you are you!

That is truer than true!

There is no one alive who is you-er than you! ~ Dr Seuss

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am standing at the edge of a drum circle of 60 people. I have just completed an orchestration sequence, following on from the instructions of my Mentor and Teacher, and brought the session to a close.”Bring us to a close using orchestration with an emotive context and content” He had said. In other words leave them feeling complete, fulfilled, enlivened and connected to one another. Oh and do it with finesse because this is your Certification celebration. Show us what you got Paul. The silence was enormously affirming. As were the mile wide smiles. Mine was the biggest. Working in service of the circle is who I am. It is my core. My unwavering ever-present eternal self. It’s what I am here to do and I do it in the knowledge that connections are deepened and life is affirmed. Always. Moments like this are few and far between, when the deepest knowing is present. When everything in the universe is as it should be.

Did I choose this path/

or did it choose me somehow/

The answer  is YES /

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Why become a VMC Certified Facilitator?

DCF Certified Facilitator Logo

Village Music Circles (VMC) has pioneered the field of professional Drum Circle Facilitation (DCF). The Village Music Circles’ Facilitation Training is internationally recognized as the defining standard for DCF training excellence. VMC Certification is created to provide a standard that is identifiable, achievable and measurable by which a DCF can be evaluated.

Certification provides a standard of recognition for individuals who have participated in the VMC leadership trainings. Certified Drum Circle Facilitators will have achieved a high standard of facilitation skills and VMC core community building values into their DCF practice.

Through achievement of certification, Drum Circle Facilitators will gain international recognition for meeting standards of excellence in facilitation skills, leadership and community building.

To be eligible for VMC Certification, Facilitators must complete:

  • One week-long VMC Basic Intensive Training
  • One VMC Mentors Experience (advanced leadership training)
  • Evaluation process: self-assessment and peer-review over 12 months practice
  • Certification evaluation by arrangement at any Facilitator Training
  • Complete 4 essays

Facilitators certified by VMC will receive the following:

  • A VMC Certified logo for professional use
  • Listing on the VMC website
  • Professional references from VMC upon request
  • Potential for selection for facilitating VMC events

15 responses to “At the Heart of the Matter

  1. Congratulations with this Paul. It sounds like it was a fantastic day, one full of pride. And thank you for the information on the VMC afterwards 🙂

  2. I have really enjoyed your recent posts having to do with your music! it is such a joy to read someone writing and sharing their passions.

      • I am still trying to catch up and rest at the same time….then I realize I will have a month of rest coming soon.

      • I have suddenly hit a run of work which is good for bank balance but hits free time and reading/writing space…more discipline needed

      • Work has been super hectic for me and I really had to sit down and change some priorities. Getting it more under control finally.

      • I go through moods, where I write this or that. It’s good to change things up sometimes, so you don’t lose your spark, and no matter what you write, your craft is always improving.

    • Drumming can be potentially very healing and/or Therapeutic. It can also be a lot of fun. I don’t set out to offer anything specific with my sessions and so folk can get what they want/need. There are ways to work specifically with the drum for personal healing or in a group setting and if it is something that speaks to you it might be worth a follow up. Let me know if I can help you find a teacher/facilitator.

Leave a Reply

