The Drum

The drum has led me a merry dance for many a moon now.

It is a heartbeat which keeps my life full and vibrant.It has opened a door to a wonderful world full of wonderful people and at the same time a door into my very own self.

It bares me to my own soul.

It takes me deep into the very fibre of life and of being. It kicks me up the arse (in the butt my American friends) and never lets me rest on my laurels, even if I were so inclined, which I am not.

It walks me into so many deep and meaningful situations, conversations, revelations, inspirations…good vibrations!

It is my brother, sister, father, mother and a constant source of unfolding joy.

I am blessed that I have the drum in my life. That I can lay my hands upon this goblet of skin and wood and sound out my thanks to the great cosmic mystery, with a ritualistic yowl, that I am who I am.

Today I read a page of recommendations that folk had written about me. About my work as a drummer. I cried with the beauty of it. I cried at who I am.

Then I questioned it. Brought disbelief into play.

That old small voice.

That one.

It says pay no mind to these words.

They are not true.

You are a fake.

I am going to share them with you. Not because I want to blow smoke up my own backside but because I want to make a step over the line.

This is a big deal for me. Acknowledging self.

The small voice says…’Do not dare!…Who do you think you are? Wow…what an Ego!

Look at old Big Head here’

I am slowly realising that this small voice has been selling me short my whole life.

It’s a lie.

It is not who I am but it is who I think I am a lot. Deep down inside.

It is present. Constantly. A subtle anxiety.  Silent and dangerous.

Like a croc in a swamp.

Fuck the small voice. These are not my words but here and now I claim them and I hold them up as a mirror into which I will look more often.

Time for a different narrative with me. One that holds the very core of me in a gentle embrace and says ‘You are enough’.

Mirror Mirror on the wall

Help me to see the truth of Paul

Standing here and baring all

Time to lose the sense of ‘small’

Mirror

Paul  reeks of integrity, spirit, and the passion to share his bliss while serving his community in every rhythmical way possible.
He has supported me in my Drum Circle facilitator training’s for years all throughout the UK and has moved from being my student to my mentor and he is now my counselor, friend and peer. I would like to be like him someday if I ever grow up.
Paul has the ability to take care of people, with presence, sincerity and always offering creative challenges. He is able to share his understandings with clarity and humour, he is reliable and a good mentor, able to communicate heart-to-heart both on human and technical level. As I saw him working, he is a solid support for logistics in group organization, being present to the needs both of the teacher and the students.
His qualities are also remarkable and identifiable in his way of drumming: he is steady, always supportive, ready to show new rhythmical opportunities by sharing great solos and giving spark to new creative “musical environments”.
As Drum Circle facilitator he is always an example for me, by his clarity in body language, creativity in delivering sequences, ability to serve the group while facilitating.
I strongly recommend his contribution for anyone who looks for improvement in a group’s synergy, creativity, relationship and communication.

Mirror

My first encounter with Paul was in 2004 and recognized immediately an outstanding rhythm event facilitator, he is enthusiastic and has the most generous spirit, he gives 100% commitment to an event and will energize the spirit of everyone who attends. The art and skill of every good facilitator is to enable a group to attain community and share their collective spirit, Paul Dear can do that and much more.

Mirror

Paul is an intuitive and imaginative teacher and facilitator and an excellent drummer. He has a talent for tuning his facilitation to the needs and moods of each group and to encourage others to bring out and believe in their own creativity and unique style. He has real passion for his art, believes in the power of communities and cooperation and keeps open himself to learning and changing. And his drum circles are fun!

Mirror

Paul is simply one of the best rhythm facilitators I know – whether that’s traditional, or improvisational. He has a keen sense of a group and its potential, and can help them reach it to the highest of their abilities.

Mirror

I count myself to be very lucky to know Paul and see him work. He has been a constant source of encouragement and expertise to me personally and also to the world of drumming. His work is always of the highest standard and he is an inspiration to see working with audiences of all ages.

Mirror

When it comes to caring about the Macro and the Micro I can’t think of anyone I trust more than Paul. What do I mean by that? His global reach, network and knowledge is HUGE and his intuition, when engaging individual members of a group is awe-inspiring.

We have very few ‘Elders’ left in our society worthy of the name. Paul not only behaves like one, onstage and offstage, he also LOOKS like one. People tend to trust teachers who embody their work. Look no further than Paul

Leave a Reply

