Tooth Haiku

Prior to my visit to the Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum and to this part of Asia I had suffered with an ongoing tooth problem, infections, heavy duty pain and sleepless nights. I was intrigued by the name of the Temple and so decided to make a visit as it was on the doorstep of the hostel I was staying in the Chinatown area of Singapore.

The Temple was a magnificent building with 5 floors and a roof garden. Each floor was given over to a separate display on Buddhism.

One of the floors contained the Tooth Relic, housed within a magnificent Stupa.

Click image to find out more about the Stupa pictured

I watched a monk sit in silent contemplation, still in this moment, as the city went about it’s business outside the slatted window that framed him in silhouette.

I chose not to take his picture.

Instead I sat myself  in quiet contemplation for a while and pondered the nature of my own tooth suffering.

I tapped into a deep emotional root.

There were tears.

I felt release.

Funny huh?

Buddha tooth relic

remnant of enlightened one

sit with emotion

Inspired by a visit to the Buddha Tooth Relic Museum and Temple

Leave a Reply

