bedazzled

This from Lil at dVerse. So for today’s Poetics, I’m asking you to kick up your heels a bit with me! Give me the ole razzle dazzle! Sparkle me with a mood by following these steps:

  1. Absorb the definitions of these words: Razzle: showiness that astonishes; Dazzle: amaze, brightness, brilliance, glare;  Sparkle: effervescence, excel, shine, vivacity, energy, oomph, gusto.
  1. Now write about something or someone or someplace or some experience that portrays the mood of the words. Use the words, one of them, or none of them. But do evoke their mood. Razzle dazzle me!

~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~   ~~~

I was driving South when it happened. Returning from a Rhythm Retreat on the Holy Island of Iona. The ferry leaving Iona for Mull was delayed and the knock on effect was that I missed the next ferry to the mainland from Mull. Island hopping teaches you to be in the moment.Landing later than planned in Oban I decided on a whim to drive a more scenic route Southwards and stop at a hotel for the night, leaving me the rest of the following day to mosey along the coast road back to South Lanarkshire, where I live.

The drive was pleasant and as the sun began to head for bed a new vista opened up in front of me, well all around me, to be truthful. It was breathtaking. That is how I described it to myself. I remember specifically thinking that. I stopped and took some photographs, feeling blessed to be present in this moment.

I did not realise at the time that breathtaking was only the beginning.

Back in the van and rounding a bend I was met with a sight that did more than remove my ability to take in oxygen. The world was now a blindingly beautiful painting unfolding and changing in front of my eyes. The brush strokes of some invisible artist inviting me to become more present.

I found somewhere to park even though there really was nowhere to park. I scrambled across rocks, through a small bog and found myself at the waters edge.

I stood and looked deeply and then I began to cry.

The sheer visceral beauty of this scene tore a hole in my heart. I could not believe what I was seeing. Nature was dazzling me with her brilliant self. Mother Earth was caressing my soul with sparkly tingly vibrations.

This was incredible.I am nothing against this backdrop but free. I cannot dare have a care for anything but now.

I am sprinkles of light.

I am no thing.

I am.

Just me stood here on this tiny pebble beach. Just me and the vison unfolding. The outer and inner worlds collide and my sense of self is diminished and expanded simultaneously. Words pale against the memory.

In my heart there is now a trinket which contains the cellular imprint. The feeling.

I can feel it now as I write but I fear the writing cannot ever convey that.

There are some photographs though 😉

42 responses to “bedazzled

  1. What a wonderful prose poem.. so much to love about the crescendo of that vision were I can feel that you find yourself with that vision…. I hope the photographs could even capture a small part of this vision.

  2. I love those “just me” thoughts, especially. There are just those places that make us feel fully present. And it is, indeed, a gift. Well done with your descriptive prose.

  3. “My sense of self is diminished and expanded simultaneously”…. What a wonderful way of explaining that inexplicable feeling when one is faced with a natural wonder that is anything but natural for us to see and feel. I remember this same awe when I first looked over and in to see the Grand Canyon! This was wonderful to read — you definitely bedazzled me!

  4. This is so beautiful Paul, I can feel what you were experiencing, it is a feeling we are blessed with so often here in the Highlands on our early morning walks. ‘In my heart there is now a trinket which contains the cellular imprint. The feeling.’ captures the magic that is way beyond words.

    • Thank You. I do believe we live in the most beautiful country in the world. I get hit with this kind of thing often too…but this one was a particularly blessed experience.

  5. Let me try again. My first reply did not publish.
    I enjoyed this so much — especially the line “my sense of self is diminished and expanded simultaneously.” You’ve expressed the feeling so well — when we see an amazing view of nature’s natural beauty and it seems anything but natural! I remember that feeling when I first looked down and in to the Grand Canyon.
    I’m so glad you joined us for this prompt! I am bedazzled!

  6. Okay—maybe my other comments are awaiting moderation? If so apologies for you having three or four or whatever I’m up to by now.
    I did enjoy your post here — I’m right with you in awe, especially as you wrote about simultaneously feeling diminished (I.E. pebble in a huge expanse of sand) and expanded too. I remember feeling this way when I looked down and across the Grand Canyon for the first time. Well done – so glad you joined us for this prompt!

  7. Damn, brother, I shall battle the Spam monster, & endeavor to convey my appreciation of your prose (poem). I am an advocate that all prose should be poetic,for too often most poetry does not embrace the clarity & sanctity of prose–what is it they say–all cocker spaniels are dogs, but not all dogs are cocker spaniels. I live in Western Washington state, surround by the ring of fire volcanos that thrill my soul daily. I’m close to Mt. Rainier, & have spent years photographing its every nuance, from every perspective, so I dig your thrill of Nature. I get it, I feel you, I am you; smile.

Leave a Reply

