dVerse, Photography

a Japanese moment

It’s Haibun Monday at dVerse tonight and we are prompted by Toni Spencer to write a free for all Haibun. Here’s how she set up the challenge.

That being said, today is a Free For All…meaning, you pick the subject upon which you wish to write.  There are rules of course – (1) The haibun must be non-fiction (2) The occurance must have actually happened to you (3) You are to write one to two tight paragraphs and (4) End it with a season based haiku.

So here goes.

The photo is by me and taken on the walk described below. A Gallery of pictures from the walk  can be seen here

***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***

The drive to Broughton gave me an inkling as to what we may encounter on our walk. The fells were covered with a fresh dusting of pure white snow and the sun was beginning it’s descent into the Western sky. I parked the van and my companion Adam, a quiet and thoughtful young man from Hungary, and I, began our walk. We climbed away from the main path, the John Buchan Way, and headed for a higher vantage point with a view westwards. In the presence of this silent fellow, I became aware of the heaviness of my own breathing. Deep snow and falling temperatures made the final part of our ascent all the more difficult but the reward was a view that was pure Winter. Tinto Hill, a distinct feature of this landscape, was now cloaked in mist and snow covered and looked somehow to have been transported from another continent. It was breathtaking.

Japanese winter

echoing the words of Basho

here on Scottish fell

***   ***   ***

34 thoughts on “a Japanese moment”

  1. sMiLes.. livinG
    iN Sunny albeit
    drought fELt beach
    lands lately..
    beauty to
    behold..
    but no
    snow..
    mountains
    or valleys low..
    emoTioNs
    carry
    Nature
    on in sAme
    as human crucible
    fire of star senSinG withiN
    pArts of EArTh are misSinG A SpiRit
    oF moRe.. iN SoUl fELt heArt ways new..:)

  2. What an excellent haibun! I so enjoyed reading this, several times. The haiku is exquisite – you had me at …. Japanese winter….very bitterly cold and damp but the scenes from their mountains are spectacular. I particularly like the image of Distant Tinto, the one filled with gold. Lovely images.

    1. I am so please you like this Toni. I was delighted with the prompt and suitably inspired. Glad you liked the pictures too. My fingers were pretty numb by the end of the day…but worth it. I’d like it if you looked at my second Haibun with a critical eye as you know so much about them. I wonder if it falls short as it is not totally factual. Feel free to citique as opposed to comment. I really like the Haibun and would like to develop my ability and style.

      1. I shall be sure to take a look. I do not usually read additional submissions because to be honest, I don’thave the time. I shall be happy to do this for you. Thank you for your kind words and I am so glad you enjoy the haibun. I will shortly be posting one I wrote about 25 years ago.

  3. So vivid that I felt I was there. I love this line….”the reward was a view that was pure Winter”. Your description was not overdone but instead gave me a clear image. How wonderful to incorporate Basho, and so seamlessly. Your photos are breathtaking as well. I like the snow fence and of course…the sheep.

Leave a Reply

