The Blues

img source

Tonight our prompt is as follows:

Make Music of Those Words—dVerse Meeting the Bar  For today, I’d like you to write a poem that incorporates elements of music. It may be on any topic, including music, but what will come through is a recognition of the influence of music.

***   ***   ***

six strings

ten digits

and  a voice matured in oaken casks

or woven from the nectar

of a honey bee

then filtered

through smoke filled bars

is all it takes

to make the blues

that and heart break

or life

falling on you like

a storm

***

36 responses to “The Blues

  1. This is SO gorgeously descriptive:
    “a voice matured in oaken casks

    or woven from the nectar

    of a honey bee

    then filtered

    through smoke filled bars”

    Just wonderful.

  2. I liked this especially the smoky bars, I played jazz even when I was young (and brass band) and we were often in smoky bars…sometimes the older men kept ashtrays under their stands and smoked inbetween playing. The jazz/swing was always better with those honey bee voices. Lovely words.

  3. This is a cinch for you, Paul, with the natural rhythm of a drummer. It’s nice and bluesy with the
    ‘…voice matured in oaken casks
    or woven from the nectar
    of a honey bee
    then filtered
    through smoke filled bars’.

    And I love the ending!

  4. I love this Paul, especially ‘a voice matured in oaken casks or woven from the nectar
    of a honey bee then filtered through smoke filled bars’. It brings back many memories from those kind of bars in Amsterdam and London with great music and warm conversations.

  5. Paul….I can’t express how much I loved your poem…but also, how much I loved this song by Willie Dixon. This is seminal blues….what I heard almost 50 years ago when I first came South. The quiet, expressiveness of this music just took my breath away. I haven’t heard this ‘kind’ of blues in a long time….for me….this is what blues should be. “You loose your woman because you watchin’ mine”. Pivotal theme in blues. But the quietness….the anguish of the common type for most of us….this is what the blues started as…..the bells, noise and whistles came later. Thank you so much, Paul. Both went deep in my soul.

  6. As a fellow blues lover, I really dug this piece. I’ve written several blues poems myself over the years, so every word resonates with me; excellent the on the prompt.

  7. ….that and heart break or life falling on you like a storm….wow! You’ve nailed it here.
    Apologies for the late reading — spent a long weekend cavorting with my grandchildren. Enjoyed reading this one! Excellent description of the blues sound! 🙂

Leave a Reply

