The Dance of Love

It’s open link night hosted by the lovely Grace at dVerse who says,

Hi everyone! This is your opportunity to link 1 poem of your choice as this is no prompt-day.

I have been reading a book entitled ‘Perfect Love: Imperfect Relationships’ by John Welwood today and so it has no doubt influenced my writing here.

I have also challenged myself to write a new form, The English Madrigal, as inspired by Chaucer ( often called a Short English Madrigal).

It is:

  • a poem in 13 lines, a tercet, quatrain and sixain in that order.
  • metered, iambic pentameter
  • rhymed with refrain, rhythm scheme AB1B2 ab AB1 abbAB1B2 (Caps are repeated lines)

Hope you like it.

*********         *********

another year gone in loves ensemble
another year older brings soul and grace
meeting my self in this dance of embrace

silent voice niggles in this crucible
enemy inside that calls to my face
another day passes in loves ensemble
another year older brings soul and grace

sensitive souls beginning to tremble
let our defenses fall out of the way
bring it all in to the dance anyway
another year won in loves ensemble
another year older brings soul and grace
meeting ourselves in this dance of embrace

*********         *********

35 responses to “The Dance of Love

  1. A challenging poetic form Paul ~ Specially like the refraining line of:

    another year older brings soul and grace

    Don’t believe there is ever a perfect relationship ~

    • Mr Welwood would agree with you on that aspect of relationships Grace, as do I. Glad you like that refrain. I will work on the form more I think and possibly on this piece. Quite a tricky one.

  2. I liked this line the best: “bring it all in to the dance anyway”

    This is the first time I’ve seen the madrigal form although I have heard of it. I wonder what music goes with it?

    • Good question.This perhaps?
      A madrigal is a secular vocal music composition, usually a partsong, of the Renaissance and early Baroque eras. Traditionally, polyphonic madrigals are unaccompanied; the number of voices varies from two to eight, and most frequently from three to six.

      ‘Bring em all in’ is a line from a favorite song of mine so it was a big influence.

    • Thanks Bjorn. I found it tricky to write and it took me 3 attempts to find my way. It has an interesting flow but one I will need more practice with.Happy you picked up the care vibe.

  3. silent voice niggles in this crucible
    enemy inside that calls to my face
    another day passes in loves ensemble
    another year older brings soul and grace

    I absolutely love, love, love this!!❤️

  4. The form seems very daunting to me….I love these lines:
    “let our defenses fall out of the way
    bring it all in to the dance anyway”—yes! Definitely 🙂

Leave a Reply

