Haiku, Real Toads

no flake?

Photo by me

A number of my favourite poets to read, post over at Real Toads, and so today I have summoned up the mind to post there myself. Seems it was a good day to begin.

There is a wonderful prompt to attempt and some fantastic reading to accompany it.

On Poetry, Writing & Metaphor – Dreaming with Stacie

I was instantly drawn to the Haiku form and here I am offering up the metaphor of melting snow to illustrate the concept of anicca.

according to which, impermanence is an undeniable and inescapable fact of human existence from which nothing that belongs to this earth is ever free. 

crystalline snow flakes

sitting radiantly here

on branch in warm sun

20 thoughts on “no flake?”

  1. I do love the sight of the sun hitting the snow crystals, even though I know that their demise lies with too much illumination. I agree with Kerry, you did capture the moment.

  2. Read your poem, then scrolled up to see the picture I had missed. I was close reading your words and checked after reading this. Thanks. Welcome to the Garden.
    ..

  3. Paul, it’s lovely to see you at Toads! Thank you for participating in the prompt, I’m glad you gained insight from it. Haiku is such a beautiful form; I’ve only made several attempts at the form myself, but it is one I intend to revisit soon. Your haiku holds so much beauty as I find the winter inspires endlessly; I do miss the snow and love to read of it. Anicca is a new word to me, and by its definition you’ve described it beautifully – and artistically – in your poem. There is a sadness to it as well, yet the radiance & light allows a hope that remains — Thanks for sharing.

    1. Thanks for the warm welcome Stacie. I don’t personally find any sadness attached to the word Anicca but that’s what makes Poetry what it is…so many ways to read a word or a line.

Leave a Reply

