veiled

img source

Fireblossom Friday at Real Toads, with a prompt to look beyond the obvious.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

She stands before me

as so many times before she has done

and my heart it weeps

if I could describe her to you I would

but i fear cliche

i do not dare drape words on her perfect form

add anything other

to her

being just her

Would i hang a new flower on the ripening cherry blossom?

Drip an extra drop of water into the tumbling waters falling?

Pour new grains of sand onto the curve of paradise?

no

all i can do is to reach out and touch her

and then describe with all my senses alight

that sound of my soul

that seeing of the naked night

that touch of electric ripple

that taste of nectar

that smell of skin

one-ness

that belonging

alas

my spirit fingers make no contact

and she

a light breeze ignores

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

18 responses to “veiled

    • Thanks Rommy. I hadn’t thought so much of the pain aspect as I was really looking to create a surprise with the unveiling as it were, but now that you mention it I agree. Especially having know that touch.

    • I always remember a line from a film where a Zen monk is studying the cherry blossoms to determine which one is perfect..he comes to a conclusion with his dying breath, that of course, they all are.

  1. Thanks for the sail into a dream space–you had me seeing everything from our poor Statue of Liberty, to a long lost passion that wears a woman’s face in dreams. A lovely flow to this.

Leave a Reply

