da DUM da Dum

img source

Over at dVerse we have a guest host today, Frank Hubeny.  Frank is offering up a prompt to do with common meter.

A popular form used for poems, songs, nursery rhymes and ballads is common meter. It subdivides into many variations depending on where one puts the line breaks or end-rhymes and how one combines lines into stanzas, but its most basic structure is the repetition of seven pairs of unaccented-accented syllables which form an iambic, rhythmic pattern that is familiar and pleasurable to many listeners. Write a poem using common meter as its core structure. Think of it as a poem that will be heard rather than seen. That means feel free to format the poem any way that helps you write or read the poem, but imagine that the ideal listener will not see this formatting any more than someone listening to a symphony will see the score used by the conductor to lead the orchestra. The poem does not have to rhyme, but it should be clear to that ideal listener that there is a repetitive, rhythmic pattern of pairs of unaccented-accented syllables that suggest the poet is using common meter.

 

a common meter is the form to challenge me this day

to find a set of syllables so I might have my say

a rolling form that weaves and rhymes at every single turn

a rain of words come falling down in time for me to learn

 

and if the structure holds itself in place for you to see

then maybe you can read aloud this poem writ by me

not every day that comes to pass will see me write like this

so treat this one with reverence as if a subtle kiss

 

and now I think my rhymes are done or ink in pen run dry

and to the forum I must go for reading by and by

I like to seek perfection in most everything I do

so thank you Frank I think I’ll dedicate this one to you

10 responses to “da DUM da Dum

  1. Perfect meter and thank you for the dedication!

    I also liked the idea of “reverence” and “kiss” being associated together, of course, that might have been the rhyme talking since you needed a word to rhyme with “this”, but I still enjoyed it.

  2. Great job here!!

    I must admit smiling at your introduction: da DUM because that’s exactly how I felt trying to write meter!

    So, smiling here I am, over my morning cup. Yep — the dVerse pub can be a learning place 😊

Leave a Reply

