blinded by the light

photo by me

Bjorn provides the prompt for this Haibun Monday.

Today I would like you to write a haibun on any subject that you like. but you should illustrate it with one picture, and let picture prose and haiku complement each other.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Winter’s dark blanket has fallen upon me and assails my very soul this day. Falling into shadow and sitting here with an old wound, I try to bring tears but the well is dry. Perhaps it was always so.How many times can you hear that boys don’t cry without it becoming your reality? So I walk. Into the mornings light in search of an answer to this ancestor’s curse but I carry the blanket with me and despite what my eyes can see there is only a darkness shrouding my being.

Light plays a sonnet

whilst my dark soul sings its dirge

winter light reflects

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

14 responses to “blinded by the light

  1. Dear Paul- what are these things you have photographed. I remember them from childhood and school..you could make the outer pieces flake off and reveal the shiny silvery inner…but I don’t know what they are called.

  2. A very deep and reflective piece. Your photo is beautiful. It saddens me that boys and men have been discouraged from that natural release of emotion.

Leave a Reply

