Winter’s Haibun

Image by me of Bull Rushes in Winter.

Bjorn provides the prompt for this Haibun Monday.

Today I would like you to write a haibun on any subject that you like. but you should illustrate it with one picture, and let picture prose and haiku complement each other.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Light snowfall frozen by the night crunches underfoot as I seek mornings dawn shapes and colours.I walk around the pond taking my time, breathing in and out with care and in time with my steps.It is a beautiful Winter’s day and my soul echoes with a crystal clear sound and my eyes, Hawk like see all the detail.Life is good. At the pond’s edge the white dusted bull rushes stand to attention, lined up like frosty soldiers and I cannot ignore the moment.I crouch, focus and take the picture from an angle that reveals my thinking.

of words and pictures

i have something to say but

Winter reveals more

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “Winter’s Haibun

  1. ladynyo says:

    Paul, I love this. Winter does that….this ‘fallow’ season is full of life! It’s a clean palette for our inventions. You have captured that very well. The haiku is beautiful….the photo….( I love Bull Rushes but they don’t grow down here in Atlanta…) and the haibun. You and Bjorn are hitting all cylinders with these. Excellent.

  2. Jane Dougherty says:

    I like the mysterious feel to this trio. I tend to think of winter as a dead time, but winter makes up for the lack of green growing by growing ice patterns. You paint that picture beautifully.

  3. Mish says:

    “my soul echoes with a crystal clear sound and my eyes, Hawk like see all the detail”
    Love this. There is so much to be felt in nature ….if we connect with it. You have truly captured that in your words.

Leave a Reply

