wistful mist

Haibun Monday at dVerse and Toni Spencer has a prompt for us. The image is mine.

Today I would like you all to write a haibun, true, and only one or two tight paragraphs ending with a classic haiku and to link it up and read other poets and comment. Indeed, many times, the comments received on our poems, at this site, are beyond price, they are free! If you need help with writing a classic haiku (5-7-5 or short-long-short with a seasonal word (kigo) and a cutting word (kireji) that separates the upper and lower kus, you can follow this link:   https://dversepoets.com/2015/11/16/japanese-poetry-forms-twins/

I am not talking about free and freedom but free, as in no cost – priceless as well. What has happened to you since Christmas that was free, that was beyond measure or cost? Was it a night by the fire sipping something delicious by yourself or with a loved one (human or animal), a walk in the snow or rain, the birth of a child, writing a poem you were really pleased about, skating on a pond or river, a concert or recital, a hug from a good friend or loved one? The list goes on and on about free things that transform our being.

My walk is intentional. I could smell the mist in the air as I awoke. So off I am, crunching across ice crusted grass in search of light. Light that is always free but not always seen. Blessed by the God Freyr, ‘Lord of the Aesir’, I am stopped in my tracks. Light swords it’s way through the mist as the morning’s warm round offering peeks from behind the trees. Reflections mirror the beauty as a doorway to beyond is opened. I step through.

Winter’s morning light

slicing through the mist of me

no one is witness*

  • originally I wrote ‘no one to witness’ and subsequently re wrote it after lovely Mentoring from the Haiku Queen 😉

42 responses to “wistful mist

  1. Oh thank you for this! I love the way you describe the light: swords its way through the mist. And how you describe smelling the mist. It does have a distinct smell just as snow has its own smell. And the haiku is wonderful.

  2. “…light that is always free but not always seen” swording through the mist. I love phrases that draw me away from my chair and into their wonderment. Thank you for that!

  3. I can’t believe we’ve both written about light, Paul, albeit in different ways. I love the phrase ‘Light swords its way through the mist’ in the prose and then continue with that metaphor in the haiku: ‘Winter’s morning light / slicing through the mist of me’.

  4. I some how managed to read this poem without first seeing the image. I’m so glad that I did because it truly held its own without its aid. A very nice bit of prose.

Leave a Reply

