dVerse, Poetry

writer

Frank is our host tonight at dVerse and his ‘Meet The Bar’ prompt is below.

In summary, here’s the challenge again: Write a prose poem on any topic of at most three paragraphs. Or, write a poem showing why prose poetry doesn’t exist.

When you have written and posted your poem or prose poem, link it up on Mr Linky. Visit other poets to see how they handled the challenge and comment. Also leave a comment below. Maybe you know other good examples of prose poems to bring to our attention in the comments below.

i am here* as Amiri Baraka is to read his own work. physically frail man on stage, lifts his notes from an old leather satchel, places them with trembling hands upon the lectern. accompanist  Henry Grimes readies himself too. i wonder what is about to occur. henry begins to play. then HE speaks.  here is a voice of pure power. a voice that speaks of a life lived. a voice that carries with it authenticity . it moves me to my very core. i had not read any of his work prior to this night. i knew nothing of the man. whatever I am to discover it will not alter the memory of the power i witness.

as i listen to him speak i hear only truth. his truth, and regardless of my own political leanings, or my racial persuasion, i am, i feel in the presence of a kind of natural greatness. a man who has walked his talk all of his life in the face of difficulty. in the face of prejudice. in the face of brutality. here is a torch bearer for a generation or more of black americans. of black men and women the world over. words have power. spoken word conveys so much more in this context than those that are written. the writer revealed. it punches me in the gut. it is visceral, humorous, dark, bleak and angry at times, but at it’s core is a deep and abiding sense of humanity. a sense of belonging. a sense of identity. i know at this moment that i am not a writer. not in this sense. not yet. maybe not ever.

*I first wrote about this evening HERE and thought I might use the old Scribbles as a source for this Prose prompt.

 

17 thoughts on “writer”

  1. You provided a strong enough introduction to make me want to read some of Baraka’s works. By convincing someone to look further, I think you quality as a writer even though you might wonder if you are not as powerful as he is.

  2. To hear that voice of power and persuasion is an amazing experience ~ For me , an authentic voice is one that speaks from the heart and from a deep belief ~ And I am honest enough to say, I too have a lot of learn as writer ~ Love this share Paul ~

  3. We are not all torch-bearers. We don’t all have a torch to bear. But even if it’s just a birthday cake candle, it doesn’t make it any less bright. That sounds terribly pompous, but it wasn’t meant to be.

  4. Thanks for introducing me to him Paul.
    I have viewed several of his videos and his words speak volumes.
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

  5. I was fascinated to hear the power Bakara’s reading had in your memory. I am new to the poet cyber community, and one thing I’m enjoying immensely (beyond the great talent I find here) is the stimulation that leads me to researching one thing or another….just as I will now off to learn more about Bakara and his work. Thank you, Paul!

  6. You’re enough of a writer to make me want to read the work of this man I had never heard of before! I believe that you were in the presence of greatness.

Leave a Reply

