the road is light

Hello.  This is Toni aka kanzen sakura (www.kanzensakura.wordpress.com) bringing to you the prompt for this session of Haibun Monday.  In 1980, the Japanese began a type of healing/meditation/relaxation process called  shinrin-yoku (森林浴) or literally, forest bathing.  This has become a recognized health benefit in Japan and other countries.  Basically you immerse yourself in the forest breathing in the benefits of such volatile substances as a-Pinene and Limonene.  It is simple.  One simply visits the forest and strolls leisurely breathing in the benefits of the volatile oils.  It also is relaxing.  Of course, one does not take cell phones, tablets, or books or other things that can distract one.  For safety sake, I will take my cell phone but…it is cut completely off.

Another way is to simply immerse oneself in nature.  When was the last time you did that – took a long walk in a forest or a field or a park or along the shores of a lake or beach?  Planted bulbs or seeds, took a sail on the water (beach or lake), sat under a tree and napped?  And thought of nothing but the nature around you.

Today, I would like you all to write a haibun (one – three tight paragraphs) ending with a haiku (seasonal and cutting words used to denote the season and to distinguish between the two parts of a haiku).  I would like you all to write about the last time you totally immersed yourself in nature.

The light was what called me as I drove Northwards towards Wiston. A golden warmth illuminated the roadside’s treeline and I knew that when I arrived I would need to take a walk. I made good time and collected my camera, a tool that allows me to practice doing without doing. The camera is a mindfulness tool for me. It focuses my attention and intention upon the surroundings and it stills me to the point where the photographs are suggesting themselves to me with a whisper.

Late Winter sun is full of magic. I walk slowly in step with my own breath and look deeply into the land. The snow covered wonderland unfolded it’s magnificence and I am left breathless  not from the walking but from the pure majesty I am witnessing. Something about fresh snow calls me home to another space in time. I am reborn and wide eyed. Enraptured by the silence. Familiar views are offered as a complete newness, as if never before seen. The light is dancing. So is my spirit.

Winter light calls me

Illuminating the land

I am reflective

photos by me.

 

20 responses to “the road is light

  1. I like the idea that the “camera is a mindfulness tool”. I always carry my phone for GPS and so my wife knows where I am through the Life360 app, but thinking of the camera function as a mindfulness tool may help me pay attention more although I try to do that anyway.

    • Photography has definitely altered how I perceive the world even when I am not carrying my camera I see photographs I might take. Those ones are kept on the film of my consciousness.

  2. What gorgeous photos…how very mindful your camera causes you to become. I am particularly taken with the one of the sheep. Animals in snow always enchant me. The photo of the snowy road enhances your words as does the haiku at the end. Winter light calls me….what a lovely line that is.

  3. Paul, I really related to your Zen-like reflection about photography. It does home us in on what really is, keeping us in the present moment. I find photography goes hand-in-hand with poetry, capturing the littlest detail. Your word-photos and visual ones work so well for this prompt.

  4. There’s nothing like new snow to make the world magic as if for the first time. Your photos capture the magic well, as do your words. Thank you for taking us along!

  5. Gorgeous photos, Paul! Two things to always have to hand: a camera and a note book.
    That’s a wonderful description of light and the photographs suggesting themselves with a whisper, summed up beautifully in the haiku.

  6. ” The camera is a mindfulness tool for me.” This is so so true! The word “focus” comes to mind as the camera does that…allows our eyes, our spirits, our minds to focus. Gorgeous photos shared here and the calm of a new snow has enveloped me this morning. Beautiful!

    • Thank You Lillian. I agree with the focus that is brought and as for spirit you remind me of one of my favorite photography quotes.

      “No matter how slow the film, Spirit always stands still long enough for the photographer It has chosen.” – Minor White

Leave a Reply

