no one

Hi everyone! Welcome to our OpenLinkNight ! This is your opportunity to link 1 poem of your choice as this is no prompt-day. For those who missed the Mr Linky deadline the past week or this Tuesday’s poetics about “The River” poem, this is also your opportunity to share your poem.   I also want to remind you that our Haibun Monday is still open the whole week.

Also submitting to Real Toads

This series of Haiku are works in progress along a particular theme…linked but not….It’s like showing my mathematical calculations alongside the solution, except there is no solution…yet!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

of the two of us

who is asking the question/

am i reflected

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

of the two of us

who is asking the question/

am i reflective

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

of the two of us

who is asking the question/

am i reflecting

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

asking in mirror

who is posing the question/

no one reflecting

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

mirror reflecting

another version of me

who is the looker

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

36 responses to “no one

  1. I like how this pushes the reader to be introspective. It demands reader involvement to fill in the blank spaces, then invites the reader to think about why they filled them the way they did.

  2. I guess the question is whether I am reflective of someone else or where I am reflected by someone else. I suppose they are both true. It is not like we are completely separate from each other. We are modeled as isolated individuals to simplify reality.

    • I think both are true also Frank but I think we have the capacity for self reflection and in the context of the Haiku I am suggesting perhaps there is a universal self where there is no individuation.

  3. As individuals, are we, nothing more, than a collection of other people’s thoughts, expressed, in the physical world, around us? In that, true individuality is, nothing more than a myth, we come to accept, in order, to preserve social norm, of the soceity that we live.

  4. who is asking the question/
    am i reflected

    Yes, when there is a connection with someone. Relationships will impinge and impact on the person reflective and relative to the feelings of both for each other!

    Hank

    • Thanks for the thoughts Hank. I think I will rewrite this as the original idea was around a reflection of self in the mirror…I see that these versions can be interpreted in many other ways. Good learning for me.

    • Thanks Zenia. I’m reading an interesting article about the Haiku form and whether it translates well into 5-7-5
      I’ve always be a proponent of the philosophy ‘less is more’ so perhaps I will walk that road a little.

Leave a Reply

