mumberly jumberly

Hello, amazing poets! WhimsyGizmo here, and it’s my personal favorite day, Quadrille Monday! Today, I want us to drift about our poems using the word balloon.

Pen us a poem that’s full of hot air. Helium up something funny, or sad, or whimsical. Noun, verb, adjective, or a compound word like balloonman – the sky’s the limit. Just make sure it’s exactly 44 words long (not including the title), and contains some form of the word balloon.

a balloon(y) buffoon

came prancing one noon

lighted by silvery fish

his hands they were beaks

with three legs carved from squeaks

on his head was a porcelain dish

filled with diamonds and gold

and some green fluffy mold

hypothetical brain that was his

 

img ~ https://www.demilked.com/colourful-surreal-photography-robert-jahns/

50 responses to “mumberly jumberly

  1. Oh, Paul, I love the image of Burano! One of my favourite places!
    I also love that ‘balloon(y) buffoon’. I agree, surreal and Lear-ish!

  2. filled with diamonds and gold and some green fluffy mold – this was lovely in contradiction. Like bringing thoughts back to earth out of the lofty clouds. I giggled trying to picture this creature from your words, delightful piece Paul!

  3. You had me seeing the Jabberwocky, and smiling at every line of your soaring fun ride, non sensing the hell out of those 44 floaty words.

  4. Your word play is peachy keen, Paul! And the rhythm…. leads to beleive you are a drummer… oh, wait…. hahaha! (I have a series of similar rhymes having grown up on the nursery types. Gets me thinking I need to revisit the style, too! Thank you!)

Leave a Reply

