consider

img ~ http://www.clematisinternational.com/japan200802.html

Mish is host at dVerse tonight and offers this superb prompt.

Today, I am asking you to write a poem from the perspective of one of nature’s gifts…a tree, a wildflower, a leaf in the wind or even through the eyes of a wise old owl.

Think beyond personification. Get into character and show us the world through your new “eyes of nature”. You may want to describe the view from where you are, the scents, the sounds and textures. Or perhaps you have a message of enlightenment. There are many lessons to be learned from nature. You could give your element of nature an opinion and let it speak through your poetry. The choice is yours. Just remember to write from nature’s point of view.

 

slow rising rays

of warm sun

fall across our congregation

our world begins

anew

rain may fall

wind may blow

it matters not to us

we are content

to be

here in our Eden

we need not toil

nor spin

all our needs are met

what is faith

in the face

of this experience

that we are cared for

daily

this is it

let it be so

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I’m not a religious person but I have always recalled this passage from my childhood and New Testament studies in school.It always carried a deep meaning for me. Still does.

Matthew 6:28-30

I paraphrase, as this is as I recall it.

“Consider the lilies of the field

how they grow

they neither toil nor spin

Yet I tell you ‘even Solomon in all his glory

was not arrayed like one of these”

 

16 responses to “consider

  1. Flowers as a congregation? Simply FANTASTIC.
    I call that verse to mind (and heart) when I find myself steeped in worry. Thank you for sharing it here.

Leave a Reply

