Treespeak

tree image ~ http://imgur.com/gallery/YcSS4

Mish is host at dVerse tonight and offers this superb prompt.

Today, I am asking you to write a poem from the perspective of one of nature’s gifts…a tree, a wildflower, a leaf in the wind or even through the eyes of a wise old owl.

Think beyond personification. Get into character and show us the world through your new “eyes of nature”. You may want to describe the view from where you are, the scents, the sounds and textures. Or perhaps you have a message of enlightenment. There are many lessons to be learned from nature. You could give your element of nature an opinion and let it speak through your poetry. The choice is yours. Just remember to write from nature’s point of view.

 

time

 

 

 

 

 

moves

 

 

 

 

 

slowly

 

 

 

 

 

in

 

 

 

 

 

the

 

 

 

 

 

world

 

 

 

 

 

of

 

 

 

 

 

a

 

 

 

 

 

tree.

 

 

 

 

How

 

 

 

 

 

long

 

 

 

 

 

have

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

you

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

got?

 

 

 

 

 

Your

 

 

 

 

 

ancestors

 

 

 

 

 

have

 

 

 

 

 

heard

 

 

 

 

 

the

 

 

 

 

 

beginning

 

 

 

 

 

of

 

 

 

 

 

this

 

 

 

 

 

tale.

 

 

 

 

 

Were

 

 

 

 

 

you

 

 

 

 

 

listening

 

 

 

 

 

to

 

 

 

 

 

their

 

 

 

 

 

stories?

 

 

 

 

 

It

 

 

 

 

 

seems

 

 

 

 

 

not.

 

 

 

 

 

How

 

 

 

 

 

long

 

 

 

 

 

have

 

 

 

 

 

you

 

 

 

 

 

got?

46 responses to “Treespeak

  1. One really needs to slow down to hear the language of the tree. But they themselves have mastered this tempo. They are the best listeners and the keepers of the world’s secrets.

  2. ah Paul……….the reading is slowed down in the scrolling…..illustrating the time measured by the tree. And the question comes round again at the end. Nicely done!

  3. Brilliant, Paul! I love this! Trees are my favourite plants. The willows in the centre of our garden whisper quite quickly compared to the silver birches at the end. The copper beech is still quite young and chatters when she has her leaves. The apple trees can be quite cheeky and the old quince and plum talk in riddles.

  4. I like the idea of slowly scrolling down the page to read the words from the trees Paul ~ I have a lot of respect for them, specially the ancient tress `

  5. Great minds, indeed. Well, when we belong to an international community of poetic minds, days like this sprout up. I love your concept, making me slow my own tempo to key into the tree’s rhythms. I, too, :).

  6. I want to sit beside this gorgeous tree and hear more. We could all benefit from the language of trees. Best use of white space…..ever.
    Thanks for your wonderful response to the prompt!

  7. I echo about the use of white space – like the Japanese black space. I love the voice of the tree in this – one of the Ents I suppose. I’d like this tree to meet my oak and become friends. I think they have a lot in common. Except my oak lets me climb anytime I wish though. He is quite generous.

    • I’m sure my tree would be happy to moot your tree…mine is a little less friendly. He has seen too much in the way of destruction and grows tired with HooMans. I like to sit with him though as he is wise and has a deep heart under the hurt.

      • my oak is an old man and has lived in innocence. but he is still wonderfully wise and full of compassion. he is home to squirrel and brds’ nests and he lets me climb him anytime. he also does not mind that I often play my violin while sitting in my own nest in his strong arms. I hope he always stays innocent.

  8. Trees talking eh? Ents talked slowly, walked slowly. But they were pretty old. I’m talking and walking pretty slow, but I don’t think I’ll live as long as them.

  9. Wow!!!!!!! The presentation. The scrolling feels like prolonging the way the tree speaks. It worked so so so well. And the meaning! GEEZ! Clever and creative and wise!

      • I wanted to slow down time nd it seemed obvious….I was ascribing two very different meanings to that question. The first is an obvious reference to the time available in this moment…this conversation….the second is more to do with time that may or may not be left to us.

  10. Thanks for the different take today;) The mightiness of trees speaks to us…would it be our lives were longer to hear more from their histories!

Leave a Reply

