colour me in

For today’s poetry writing prompt, I’m challenging you to write – or speak – or act! – or sing! – a poem that harkens you back to your childhood imagination. It may be of any theme or form you choose, but it must be as creative as possible. (And no, it doesn’t have to rhyme!) I hope it will be magical or whimsical, quirky or funny, colourful or even nonsensical! Create the kind a poem a child would love to read, hear or act out. And most important, have fun & love what you are creating. 🙂

Thank you for reading, participating & visiting Imaginary Garden with Real Toads today. It’s been my pleasure & privilege to add my voice to this community. Have a fabulous National Poetry Month! -Stacie

also submitting to dVerse OLN#193

 

 

once upon a time there was

a creature made of blue

who bounced around outside until

he bounced right into you

 

you swallowed him without a blink

and gobbled him up whole

and ever since he’s lived in there

and coloured in your soul

 

for once you were the brightest girl

that anyone could know

you drew the world in crayon lines

and made the whole thing glow

 

you danced and sang and laughed out loud

you jumped in puddles too

you twirled and swirled and jiggled life

my heart belonged to you

 

and so the change i saw was hard

to bear as i now do

what can i do to help you now

my friend who is so blue

 

it came to me just like a flash

of colours in my mind

the way to change this bluey thing

was just by being kind

 

so every day i promise this

i’ll be your bestest friend

i’ll bring you daffodils and worms

and race you round the bend

 

we’ll climb on toffee flavoured clouds

and swim in tubs of beans

and eat wild warthog sandwiches

with yellow spotted creams

 

we’ll skate on ponds of lemonade

until we’ve licked them dry

and take a jello-copter ride

across the wobbly sky

 

we’ll drum with hedgehogs in the park

and dance with funky moles

who’ll take us to  a party in

their undergroundy holes

 

we’ll meet with elves and faerie folk

and magic we will see

we’ll get to make a wish come true

i know which one’s for me

 

we’ll travel to the moon and back

on dragons made of shoes

and when we land back here on earth

there won’t be no more blues

 

and if that blue thing comes to stay

and brings with him the sad

we’ll have a playday just like this

he’ll wish he never had

 

so if you have a friend like this

whose colour has changed hue

remember all you have to do

is love them through and through

 

napo2017button1

napowrimo 6/30

 

 

 

 

 

Save

70 responses to “colour me in

  1. Kids know best! And so, I guess, does the inner child who can never entirely be lost.

  2. Behind the idealism of childhood runs the thread of meaning: people need each other, whatever their ages, especially with the prevalence of depression. The voice of commitment in the poem is beneficial to anyone who reads it.

    • Thanks Kerry. I agree and would add that sometimes the meaning can be found in the idea of such a friend. Lots of writing would ‘take me away’ when I was younger.

  3. Colourful, childish and absolutely spot on, Paul! I love the lines:

    ‘you drew the world in crayon lines
    and made the whole thing glow’;

    ‘you twirled and swirled and jiggled life
    my heart belonged to you’;

    and

    ‘i’ll bring you daffodils and worms
    and race you round the bend’.

    I still have my best friend – he comes home to me every day, sometimes with daffodils but not worms!

  4. Paul, I absolutely adore this! It is everything I envision children’s poetry to be. Delightful, playful, musical, colourful — and the message within it of love, friendship and caring for each other is lovely. I am going to print off a copy and share with my children during our reading time this evening. 🙂 Thank so much for participating in my prompt! Happy April – Stacie

  5. Ohhhhhhh, YES. YES. You’re channeling Seuss here, and beautifully so.
    LOVE this:
    “we’ll skate on ponds of lemonade

    until we’ve licked them dry

    and take a jello-copter ride

    across the wobbly sky”

    And dragons made of shoes? Yes, please! 🙂

    Delighted by this, paul.

  6. There is something terribly sad behind these words. The adult writing to the child who has lost himself/herself. Maybe I’m reading too much into it, and it is a happy childhood story, but that’s how it came across to me.

  7. We talk glibly of the child within but yours is a lovely boy-friend – who could be blue after all this:

    I’ll bring you daffodils and worms
    and race you round the bend”

  8. beautiful words Paul, friendship is very precious when we are down, we need this kind of friend that brings us earthworms as sacred gifts. Only this sort of friend knows our heart like their own. Loved the colour blue mentioned in the beginning and then towards the end, he was blue, she made him bright now he is trying to get her back to the light. Loved this very much. I thought back to my school days and when we used to write in each other’s book my best friend wrote this in mine, “I have a pen, my pen is blue, I have a friend, my friend is you”, she and I were about 10 and our friendship is still going strong!

  9. Wonderful rhyme and rhythm. A test of which is that I highly dislike long, wordy, self-indulgent poems that imagine the reader has nothing better to do, but this was far from that. So creative, fun and trippy — it carried me right along with no effort — the ideas, words and rhythm were a wonderful vehicle.

    But I have a few buts (as is my nature): This poem is playful, optimistic and as fun as all the promises. But when someone is depressed, it may not be as simple as one thinks to drag them into happiness with lots of fun experiences. It is our naive idealism, and though pretty and hopeful, the blue critter will usually ignore this. The cure, is often far more complex — as I am sure you know. But still, fun writing, for sure.

    But if this is the inner child who comes to rescue us, it is even sadder. As I watch the playful child atrophy, stiffen and fade out as people get older. Some of use nurture that child by allowing her/him to play, but most don’t, for some reason. I wager that many who write her, nurture that child more than most — just a guess.

    • Thanks for your considered opinion.

      I agree as an adult who has suffered with depression, that fixing is not quick nor simple. In writing this piece I imagined what might have helped when the seeds of depression were first sown and so this narrative was born and my young boy with a desire to ‘chase away those fledgling blues’

      During the writing there were times when ‘this’ adult writer was connecting with ‘that’ child. Not planned but there you go. Writing can open doors. I’m much more interested in keeping the child in me playful but occasionally he surprises me with his wisdom.

  10. Ah, you’ve wrapped a wonderful wisdom in a child’s fantasy, and taken us all on a joyous trip while teaching us what’s really important to us each and every one. Bravo, my poet friend!

Leave a Reply

