Water of Life

Grace hosts the bar tonight with this prompt.

Our word for Quadrille Monday is STILL.  Use it as a noun, adjective, adverb or verb. You can also combine still with another word like stillness, stillwaters, stillborn, stillrooms, or even standstill.  Our challenge:   please write a poem of precisely 44 words, not including the title, and including a given word.

water steeped barley germination

new life interruption by hot peat smoke

 

malt made fine in old Porteus

takes grist from this mill

 

water by gallons mashes things up

fermenting from tun to washback

 

copper stills the process until the

spirit is born: Uisge Beatha

 

napo2017button1

napowrimo 24/30(4)

Come see where Whisky is made

Save

Save

42 responses to “Water of Life

  1. Makes me want to write about distilling moonshine. Scotch & I have never been friends, but white lightning has been a companion.

  2. I am deeply enamored of the phrase “copper stills the process”…I feel as though I should pull up a copper cup, right now, and still the process of this crazy day. Cheers.

  3. I see you’ve used the Scots Gaelic for water, Paul! I’m not a whiskey fan – I don’t drink – and have never known the difference between Scotch and Irish whiskey, but it could lie in the Gaelic spelling (tongue in cheek – pun intended!). I do know they both use peat and I love the idea that the spirit is born!

      • Brewing, distilling and wine making are all interesting processes. Putting together a smoothie can be creative but juicing and pressing a button is so boring!

    • Taste is what is best to do with this stuff but sometimes it gets the better of me. There are so many different malts to choose from and so many tastes to savour. Endless joy.

  4. Very fun take on the word, Paul. It took me a second read, having never been involved in moonshining though when I studied organic chemistry, we did distill booze in the lab. The prof knew he had a bunch of nurses and otherwise peripherally science-enamored students.

    • I think the process is the same pretty much, be it moonshine, single malt whisky or Poteen. My observation is built on having seen the whisky made here in Scotland. The image of drunk nurses in the chemistry lab is making me smile.

  5. I liked this before I fully understood it was about making scotch…there is something about the language of brewing and making things that is poetic and missing from our lives.

  6. water by gallons mashes things up
    fermenting from tun to washback

    How one takes pain to have a memorable drink more than the usual cuppa of coffee!

    Hank

Leave a Reply

