pebbles

Day 25 of napowrimo and it’s the Tuesday Platform at Real Toads.

Greetings to all poets, visitors, friends! And so we have come to the last Tuesday of poetry writing month. It has been a CHALLENGE for those who are attempting to complete 30 poems in 30 days. It has also been a celebration of our community of poets – we are so often too busy to make the effort to write on a regular basis (and I count myself in this number) but this one month of the year allows us to come together both to inspire and support the art which all of us holds so dear.

While this platform remains open to any poem you wish to share, I offer a tiny picture prompt for those who may be running out of ideas, and are looking for a spark to ignite the thought process.

The artist I am featuring today is Agnes Lawrence Pelton (1881–1961). To visit the WikiArt gallery of some of her paintings, click HERE.

memory-1937pinterestlarge

Memory: Agnes Lawrence Pelton Fair Use

 

as sleep fell heavy

on my eyes

 

words began to fade

into view

 

‘pen me’

 

my mind knew

it was now

 

i should reach

for paper and pencil

but the desk was

four steps away

 

and sleep had me

lulled in her

tender embrace

 

cocooned

 

surrender inevitable

and those words

became thin ghosts

 

silent echoes

in a void

 

there

but not

 

one pebble

 

upon the shore

 

much like

all the others

 

except

it called to me

 

i remember that

 

and now it lies

hidden in plain view

 

muted

 

napo2017button1

napowrimo 25/30(1)

Save

Save

Save

20 responses to “pebbles

  1. I like the idea of words becoming ‘thin ghosts’ and ‘silent echoes’ .. all the more reason for us to hold on to them! 🙂

  2. I can relate – this has happened to me many times. I like the way you captured the feeling f the fading words in the dwindling lines.

  3. Ah that beautiful pull of drifting into sleep… Tis a thing of comfy armchairs and it annoys me that that same beautiful thing never happens when I go to bed!
    Anna :o]

  4. Good intentions don’t a poem write
    Stay awake or write it down, my thought

    I used to keep a pad and pen bedside and occasionally jotted something down. But never did it become a poem or blog post. I still have file folders full of ideas, every now and then I run across one.
    You?
    ….

Leave a Reply

