Limerick(s)

Frank is asking us to pen a Limerick in tonight’s prompt at the bar

Here is my starter for ten. I may be back with more.

 

There once was a drummer called Paul

Who had drums that had learned how to crawl

They got out late one night

and they sneaked out of sight

and now he can’t play them at all

 

There once was a Limerick you know

who had started out life rather slow

so he went through the gears

and put wind up his fears

and his poem was ready to go

 

I wonder if time does exist

or perhaps it’s just hidden in mist

it’s all relative(s)ee

like my brother and me

so we’ll stay in this bar till we’re pissed*

 

*drunk

41 responses to “Limerick(s)

  1. “put wind up his fears” … I love that.

    I want to hear you play drums. Can you make it happen?

    I dated a drummer/singer in high school. Super hot.

  2. It looks like those drums found a way to escape and it looks like the limerick was ready to go as well. I see you like starting yours “there once was a”. It seems a reasonable place to start a limerick. Looking forward to more of them!

  3. Great idea to keep adding limericks every little while to get us to keep coming back. I really like the third one and totally agree with the opening … time as just mist. I ended a conversation with my teenager the other day by going into a monologue about how time is not linear but that it folds; past is present is future. It’s all just a water droplet sort of deal. Anyway, she just walked away from me. 😛

    • Ha ha. It is a normal kid reaction to weird parent-speak ( from kids perspective of course ;)) Years from now when you have decided time is more linear she will hit you with it and the universe will fold back in on you 😉

  4. Enjoyed your takes on the form; you took them in novel directions. Also the drumming. As an owner of a djembe and doumbek, I have an affinity for percussion. Every inanimate object is fair game.

  5. You cheered me up this morning with your crawling drums and two (old) Dears getting pissed! (Apologies, I couldn’t re-sist (er)!)

Leave a Reply

