strip(ed)

sambaAt the Imaginary Garden the  assignment is to write about shoes. Pick a song (or two or three) if you like, use the photo if you like, or whatever works for you. And then let your words race, dance, fly!

 

 

everyone

was

wearing them

 

at least it seems

that way

 

now i look through

nostalgia’s glass

 

(eye) conic they were

even then

 

and so fucking cool

 

three

stripes and a name

that flitted

 

across the pitch

floor

world

 

i am Jairzinho

Carlos Alberta

Edson

Arantes do Nascimento

 

in my mind

free flowing

beautiful game

 

mother bought me a pair

cheap from the market

two stripes

 

no taste no idea

i can’t wear

these to school

 

in that

playground

plague  round

 

have you any idea

how much (she)

glowered

 

fierce eyes killed

any reply

so on they went

 

one stripe torn from

the dream

gauntlet to run

 

napo2017button1

napowrimo 27/30

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “strip(ed)

  1. Kerry says:

    Haven’t we all wished to be cool, sporting the name brand.. I’m afraid my childhood was also plagued with the knock-offs. Ha!
    Cool play on words, Paul.

  2. kim881 says:

    I could never see the attraction to trainers or football boots – they make your feet hot and sweaty! When I was still teaching, I had to check up on uniform and it was a job and a half to get boys to remove their trainers and put on the black plimsolls provided by the school. When I was a teenager, I used to annoy everyone by going barefoot in protest – I hated shoes!

  3. Jim says:

    I know of those “three stripe desires’ having raised a girl now I her forties. And they have stayed with her. I remember when flip flops came out, I lived in those until my arches broke.
    ..

    • paul scribbles says:

      I’m not into fashions at all in general but those ‘Sambas’ were a must have. I did eventually buy myself a pair of blue suede ones. Blue Suede Samba’s’ Hmmmmmm. Another idea for a poem me thinks.

Leave a Reply

