skye

At dVerse this evening it’s Haibun Monday.  My favourite.

Our host is Toni, kanzensakura  and here is her prompt.

Today, I’d like you to write about singing along with your music and driving.  Off on a trip, off on vacation, soothing yourself and just driving at night, driving out your anger or your grief, shared a few songs with a friend?

Let’s keep the haibun classic (please, no poems or “westernized” writings) with one paragraph and a haiku – not a senryu, or three line micropoem, or American sentence.  I want us to keep this clean and classic.  Also if you like, print out the lyrics to your favorite song or embed a video as well so we can sing along with you, cry with you, laugh with you, take this job and shove it with you.

Dawn came quietly and with majesty, illuminating my bed in the ‘old bus.’ My friend Maria and her partner had offered me this berth for the night after our community drum circle on day two of DrumTrek here on the island of Skye. Too late to drive away and anyways, the craic was good. We ate a breakfast that only dear friends could with silence and smiles, fresh coffee and memories. Then I hit the road to Edinburgh. But first I had to get off the Island. She rose up to meet me this morning, all blue mountain and blankets of cloud, and sang a song of soul deep into my bones. I didn’t have music playing but in my head I could hear Davy.

The pipes are calling

deep ancestral vibrations

summer of my life

Notes: I filmed much of DrumTrek, both the drum circles and the road ahead with a view to one day making a film/writing the story. On my return I edited a short piece of the Skye footage and added a track of Davy Spillane’s. So whilst I wasn’t singing out loud from my mouth this day I was in a moment of pure bliss, deeply connected to the mystery, and I could hear this music in my mind as I drove. I hope you enjoy it.

Music: Midnight Walker: Davy Spillane

dsc_0011-01

The Old Bus

Why not join us over at dVerse tonight with a Haibun of your own.

How to play:

  • One paragraph, one haiku. If you need a review on writing haiku, please go to this link: https://dversepoets.com/2015/11/16/japanese-poetry-forms-twins/
  • If you are multitasking writing to several prompts, please remember this is a haibun prompt and write accordingly.
  • Link your haibun to Mr. Linky and also to this prompt so others can find their way here.
  • Read and comment on other’s haibun. Remember, this prompt is good through the week so you are not late if you don’t immediately post.
  • Check back for new entries during the week to read and enjoy.
  • Have lots and lots of fun with this.

35 responses to “skye

      • I wouldn’t like to say to a Scot, but I can’t understand why they persist with bagpipes when the Uilleann pipes are so much more melodious.

      • Well. First things first. I’m of Irish descent, all the way along the line. Just happen to live in Scotland the noo.These Uilleann pipes, as you will well know as a Dougherty, are the Irish ones.The Scots have a variety of Bagpipes, the most common being the Highland variety you would perhaps be most familiar with. They have some that come close to the Uilleann but not close enough for this boy’s ears. Bagpipes played well are a good listen too.

      • When you scratch a bit beneath the surface, especially of Yorkshire folk, you find Irish. Funny that. Half of the West Riding seems to have Irish blood. I’m afraid I don’t really enjoy the lone piper laments. They just sound rather lugubrious to me. Give me a tear-jerking lilting melody on the pipes any day.

  1. This line “She rose up to meet me this morning, all blue mountain and blankets of cloud, and sang a song of soul deep into my bones.” is crafted so well – Beautiful!

  2. I haven’t listened to Davy Spillane in years! When I lived in Ireland I used to hang out with all sorts of musicians and sing at sessions in pubs and clubs. I love the Uilleann pipes – they conjure up images of Tara, Newgrange, Kells and Moynalty, the little place where I lived when Ellen was a baby. Thank you, Paul.
    You’re lucky to live on Skye, a place I’d love to visit. I’m a huge Outlander fan and love the version of the Skye boat song they chose as the theme tune.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCPzHiG40cs

    • Oh I don’t live there Kim. I’m in the Borders. This was part of a trip I made last year called Drum Trek. My folks are Irish and Davy always takes me to my spiritual home. Don’t know Outlander but I don’t watch TV so no surprise there. Lovely song though.

      • I’ve only ever been up to a place between Aberdeen and Peterhead many years ago, so I don’t know the borders. Outlander is only on Amazon Prime, where I watch movies and unusual TV series that you don’t get on terrestrial TV or even Sky (pardon the pun). It’s beautifully filmed, has a fabulous soundtrack and stars the wonderful Sam Heughan. It’s a weird story of a woman who time travels back to 18th century Scotland through a ring of standing stones.

      • There’s lots of sex, torture, violence and a little witchcraft, as well as fabulous Scottish scenery. The second series was mainly in 18th century Paris – that was an eye-opener!

  3. A beautiful haibun and haiku Paul and I love your video paired with Davy’s pipes – there’s something so magical about hearing them among such stunning scenery :o)

  4. one of the places I fell in love with watching a historical documentary once, the island of Skye. How lovely to know that even a place can bring music to our hearts.

  5. This is wonderful, Paul. The description make me want to be there, drumming and dancing and sharing the breakfast. And the haiku offers the biggest attraction. I can hear the calling…

  6. Just wonderful, Paul. I am planning my first trip to Ireland and would like to hop over to Skye! I love the pipes as I love listening to those of the Andes as well. Cool story and haiku.

  7. Absolutely haunting. Thoroughly enjoyed the video. So many of us Lancastrians have Irish blood….somehow you cannot help but feel that it is still in our bones.

Leave a Reply

