sleep tight

Welcome!  This is Frank Hubeny. The form today is Ottava rima, an old Italian form consisting of multiple stanzas each of eight lines using iambic meter and having the rhyme pattern abababcc.

Although one can go on and on indefinitely with ottava rima stanzas, for this challenge let’s limit the number of stanzas to four or less. One stanza would do. It can be on any topic you want.

Here’s the procedure.

  • Write your ottava rima poem of 1 to 4 stanzas,
  • post it on your blog and
  • put the link to your blog post in the Mister Linky below.
  • Comment below if you have linked something or have some question about ottava rima. I may not know the answer but it will be fun to try to find one.
  • And don’t forget to read and comment on the other poems that others have linked. We all get to know each other better that way.

 

 

and so to bed i go this night

and lay my head on pillow soft

to sleep perchance without a fright

and stay away from that which oft

has led me to this weary plight

at which my mind has mostly scoffed

that demons which patrol my head

are real as real can be the dead

 

 

image source

11 responses to “sleep tight

  1. I wish you freedom from nightmares!

    Clever of you to realise we were asked for ‘iambic meter’, not necessarily pentameter. I like that effect.

  2. You all “scramble me brains” at use of meter, pentameter, tetrameter! I only notice that the rhythm is pleasant to my ear … and this one has glorious cadence.

  3. at which my mind has mostly scoffed
    that demons which patrol my head
    are real as real can be the dead

    Great ending Paul! Yes, one sleeps well when relationships are on good terms. There may be distractions but a strong stand against them was good enough!

    Hank

  4. they haunt me too in hours small
    as if they were not dead at all

    You sussed it – the trick with the iambic meter is to stick to one and two syllable words! I hope you managed to get some sleep in the wilds of Scotland with no mod cons!

Leave a Reply

