singing the rain

Greetings, intrepid poets! De Jackson here, aka WhimsyGizmo. It’s my favorite prompt day, Quadrille Monday, when we write a poem of exactly 44 words, including a provided word.

Today, I want you to poem us up a perfect STORM.

Make it a lightning-fast verb, or a thunderous adjective. Hail down a noun. Whatever form your storm takes, your poem needs to contain some semblance of the word storm (storming, stormy, stormed, etc.), and be exactly 44 words long, not including the title.

Here is my Storm poem inspired by the video below.

 

palms rubbed softly

then more vigorously

 

fingers click

 

just  a few at first but

soon

 

many more filter in

 

hands tap thighs

clicks fade

 

waterfall of legs sound out

then stamp thunder

into being

 

crescendo and fall away

before they sing up a storm

 

 

This is my first post in over 12 days after a sojourn in the Scottish Highlands where I walked the Glens and Coasts with Mrs Scribbles, ate fresh seafood and drank fine whisky and shot over 1000 photographs ( The results will appear on my photo blog soon once I can decide which ones to post)

I did scribble a little, pencil on paper whilst away and will find time to post some words about the trip soon. I am now in Kuala Lumpur where I am leading an Expressive Rhythm Stories training program for 2 days and attending some professional development workshops on others. I’ll be here for 3 weeks in total.Time to write is at a premium as I head into my busy work period with festival ahead but I will endeavor to write as much as possible and visit your poetry blogs too in the coming months.

9 thoughts on “singing the rain

  1. Janice says:

    I made up my own images when I first read and then I heard/saw the video which was amazing and of course that added another layer to the poem. Thanks Paul…best wishes for your workshops etc

Leave a Reply

