read me

Real Toads tonight…Sanaa writes of insomnia and sleep.

“Have you ever found yourself lying awake in bed at night, waiting for sleep to come, when your brain refuses to shut its mouth and thoughts of every angle and shape that plagues it? I have often found myself unable to sleep at night. There is just so much to do!

For today’s challenge, I want you to write a poem about insomnia. Your poem doesn’t necessarily have to be serious, it can be light-hearted too. Choose your own form or write in free verse, if preferred. I look forward to reading what you guys come up with.

The link doesn’t expire, so please feel free to write more than one poem. Please do visit others and remember to comment on their poems. Have fun!”
~
ironic prompt lands at 3am
here time
but some other there time
where i was it’s 8pm
yesterday
time however is irrelevant
when sleep evades you
except the future time
you know will come
where in the moment
you require consciousness
sleep falls upon you
like a heavy blanket
and darkness comes
invited or no
taking away the day
as payment for the night
and despite this knowing
my eyes fixed and wide
refuse to close though
my body wilts in the heat
and the snores from next door
mock my being awake
and so
into the shadows and ways
lit by screens and lamp
i flow and weave
searching and finding
connection in this now
and meaning in this hum
of silence that wails
and fails to fall into deep
sleep which despite my call
evades all of my efforts
to make it friend
so foe it is
but in this enemy
i see a light that will i think
offer me comfort of sorts
as i widen my awake into a
glare of trance like proportions
and pen streams of ink that spiral
in a way that need not have form
or sense or rhythm because it is
past that time and all the world
sleeps bar me and i will
i will
remain
awake
unwilling
but caught
until the dawn breaks
upon this sleepless shore
and waves of tiredness
roll me over
and lose me the day to come
perhaps
and here is the rub
maybe
were it not for this moment
you would not be here
~

9 responses to “read me

  1. I love this section:

    “taking away the day
    as payment for the night
    and despite this knowing
    my eyes fixed and wide
    refuse to close though
    my body wilts in the heat
    and the snores from next door
    mock my being awake”

  2. Also these:

    “but in this enemy
    i see a light that will i think
    offer me comfort”

    “were it not for this moment
    you would not be here”

    Plus, the part that kind of says “I will-remain awake,” as in, I will myself to stay awake.

  3. Wow!❤️ This is so intense Paul! You take us step by step through hours of annoyance and constant struggle to catch sleep while it evades us. Especially resonate with “my eyes fixed and wide refuse to close though my body wilts in the heat and the snores from next door mock my being awake.” Beautifully executed. Thank you so much for participating 🙂

  4. As a retiree, it’s easy to snatch the day to fits if sleep you are robbed of at night. But for those who have a work schedule ahead . No fun at all.

    Nice telling

    Much love…

  5. Oh those telling words “you would not be here” said by widows and widowers and jilted lovers alike, whose memories nudge us at nightfall/

Leave a Reply

