thank you joseph

 

Our theme for this week’s haibun is summer!  Share with us a summer memory – from a summer love to coping up with the summer heat.   Or how about a summer comedy, tragedy or disaster?

Being that this is Haibun Monday, please write a haibun based on the prompt, with 1 to 2 tight paragraphs, ending with a seasonal haiku.   Don’t forget to visit and comment on others poetry, especially to those who have visited you.

What to do after you have written:

  • Post your haibun to your blog
  • Add a link (direct URL address) of your poem via the ‘Mr Linky’ below
  • Add the link for the dVerse posting so others can find their way here
  • Read and comment on other people’s work to let them know it’s being read
  • Share via your favorite social media platforms
  • Most importantly, have fun!

See you at the poetry trail ~  Grace

 

 

 

i had just said ‘fuck it’ to everything everyone else had said I needed to do. my future was up in smoke.my life was unconventional. so were my clothes. my hair too. but i was free. oh was i free. for the first time in my life. i was the captain of the ship of me and i could sink it if i wanted to. because in that beautiful blue underworld that you all said was danger i could swim like nowhere else. and swim i did. into the places you had never dared go. all i beheld there would serve me. would inspire me. would leave me marked. indelible. tattoo’d spirit.

following my bliss

inking that summer’s spirit

deep into my soul

 

 

27 thoughts on “thank you joseph

  1. kanzensakura says:

    I kin ew several men back then who wore skirts as well. I was a lot like you in being different and free. I went to Woodstock but…can’t remember a thing.The haiku at the end is excellent.

  2. kim881 says:

    You and me both, Paul! I love that sentence: ‘ i was the captain of the ship of me and i could sink it if i wanted to. because in that beautiful blue underworld that you all said was danger i could swim like nowhere else. and swim i did. into the places you had never dared go’. I love that haiku – it would make a great tattoo!

  3. Jane Dougherty says:

    Those kind of memories could only be made in summers, when the sun shone every day, the sky was blue and whatever we did was magical and original. Glad you have a store of sunshine 🙂

  4. Glenn Buttkus says:

    “responsible for your own truth”–a beautiful notion–as long as some compassion, reciprocation, and service to others & family wormed its way into your sphere.

  5. Sumana Roy says:

    Enjoyed this buoyant moments of freedom in summer. This reminds me of those seven days I enjoyed in the Andamans snorkeling, in the Bay of Bengal and watching the beauty of the mesmerizing coral world.

  6. Kathy Reed says:

    We all need to follow our bliss…to do otherwise is to regret what we didn’t do. In my case, I was having to be responsible for two children long before I had a chance to be free and let my hair down. Lucky you!!

  7. Victoria C. Slotto says:

    So enjoyed this, Paul. There is something about summer that invites the wild one in us to let loose. I must admit, I’m glad I didn’t go for a tattoo–I can’t imagine how it would look now!

Leave a Reply

