fly

blogger-image-1870998469

Image by Karin Gustafson.

 

these flights of fant(a)sy

serve only to (re)mind me

of how (wei)ghted i really am

of how deep runs this (wo)und

(wou)nd around my c(ore)

tugging at me whenever i lift off

an(chor)ing me always

to a point below gr(ou)nd level

my own personal ab(yss)

but this groun(d)ed knowing

comes only upon landin(g)

and staying put a (whi)le

and so perhaps i must fly

until (i fa)ll

and as i fall with (no grou)nd below

(i m)ust it seems

fly still

 

 

 

20 responses to “fly

  1. and as i fall with (no grou)nd below
    (i m)ust it seem fly still
    Sometimes in life one may seem comfortable when there are no distractions but reality may come in sudden shocks! Very much so Paul!
    Hank

  2. Falling is a kind of flying.. until one hits the ground. This was a very interesting read, especially with your use of parehteses.

      • I’m certain.

        The parens lead me to underground stories/messages.

        Like at the end, I see “I’m used.” Who doesn’t feel like THAT?! then there’s that gorgeous closing call to action: “fly still” … like a hummingbird. If I were a bird, that’s what I’d be … But I’d be able to turn into a snow owl at will. 🙂

      • I love how one version of the opening says “these flights of fancy serve to mind me.” I mean, good golly. If you’re gonna go to the trouble of imagining, or fantasizing, it sure better all be to your liking! It’s for YOUR pleasure, after all. 😛

      • I also see “how we-Ted I am.” This makes me think of Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath … how hard it would be to be married to her (to him too, I’m sure).

        Then it could also be “whee! Ted,” which makes me think of him being on a merry go round, which makes me think of his affairs. One person’s fun is too often another’s pain, and even sickness.

      • Even the title; rearrange the letters to find hidden words: … life, lift (without the t), leaf, feel, file, flee.

  3. HI Paul–the parantheses work in an interesting way. A first I thought they were a bit of a distraction, but as I read on, I could understand the kind of interruption that they made worked very well with this sense of tentative halt and stop start, and moments within a flight or fall where one is unsure of what’s next–so they created a very unique and interesting rhythm. Thanks so much for participating. k.

  4. I think the use of the parentheses works wonders in this piece – it really adds something the perfect dimension to the piece – even as others mentioned, initially I was a bit put off, but realized how clever this is – and it works, because it emphasizes the words, really brings it all home, home the start – stop motion is part of flight.

    And I just love sitting with the words and lines themselves – letting them linger – in relation to how you’ve captured a universal theme, made it somewhat personal without being too revealing, and yet, we can extract and make it wholly intimate in relation to ourselves. Truly wonderful.

Leave a Reply

