in search of stillness

Poets United Midweek Motif ~ Movement

It’s my first time posting here at PU and I look forward to meeting the community.

 

outside all appears calm

bar the frowning

which is subtle

but a dance

nonetheless

 

inside is all agitation

rhythmic pulses

of undigested life

stretching the guts

of it all

 

perhaps stillness is a theory

and not a place

we can truly inhabit.

Is every way that we move

meant?

 

 

23 responses to “in search of stillness

  1. Aha. The only total stillness is death, and then perhaps our spirit has levitated and gone dancing somewhere in the ether! So long as our heart beats and our brain cells churn out words there’s movement!

    • I agree Bev. I have been pondering this ‘stillness’ question a while. I understand what folk mean by it and I may have gotten close to experiencing it through meditation but in the end i think everything is moving…always.

  2. I love your closing question. In our society, all is motion and frenzy, as if Doing is the only valid state. I love that inner stillness, when we become somewhat detached, The Observer, bemused, watching the crazed dancers. Nice to see you at PU, Paul! Yippee!

    • This was what led me to ponder. The idea of inner stillness. Do we ever really get still? It is defined as the absence of movement or sound. I think we can escape time but movement?…I’m not sure.

  3. Everything has energy, so I guess everything is always moving..even in stillness there is still breath and life.
    I wanted to ask you about your drumming, I attend drumming circles and I often find a stillness in between beats, it’s a quiet place for the soul.

    • I find moments of pure timelessness in drumming and also in meditation but I guess my question was looking deeper…almost at a subatomic vibrational level…is anything in the universe ever really still?

      • Yes, I agree there are moments when one transcends time and enters a spiritual plane. I do believe it is our inner frequency that continues to move. At the height of meditation or drumming the frequency level rises vibrating outward from our inward place of harmony. Does that make sense? It is how I feel when I am in my zone of spirituality. I am one with the beat of my drum.

  4. Very powerful words. I don’t know if stillness is a place we can inhabit Maybe in nature we can be in this stillness and forget about the agitation. Great poem

    • It’s worth a ponder for sure. I think that in some cultures and practices ( being in nature is a good example) there is an appreciation of stillness that sees it as something other than the ‘opposite’ of movement, which is what I am looking at in the poem.

  5. I think you are right….stillness is more a theory than a place. That final stanza struck me as being especially powerful.

Leave a Reply

